Fact or Fiction: Cancer Clinics - CNSC Online

Fact or Fiction: Cancer Clinics

Fact or Fiction

Table of Contents

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 01

logo
score

Radiation therapy is used in 60% of cancer treatments.

Radiation therapy is one of the most commonly used methods for treating cancer and can be used alone or in combination with other therapies.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 02

logo
score

Cancer clinics are like hospitals. They are regulated by Health Canada and not the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC).

The CNSC and Health Canada, as well as the provinces or territories, regulate different aspects of Canadian cancer clinics. Clinics must have the appropriate CNSC licenses to use radioactive materials or to operate certain types of radiation-producing equipment. CNSC inspectors ensure that radioactive materials are handled safely and that licensed equipment functions properly, is installed in facilities that have appropriate safety measures, and is operated by well-trained staff.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 03

logo
score

Sitting in a cancer clinic waiting room will expose you to high levels of radiation.

Radiation treatment rooms are shielded and carefully controlled, so it is completely safe for people in nearby waiting rooms.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 04

logo
score

Before a patient receives any radiation, a personalized treatment plan must be created.

Using computerized tomography (CT) scanners, MRIs, PET scans, or ultrasound, doctors create a simulation of the patient’s body and the cancerous area to pinpoint the location and edges of the tumour. They then create a plan that best delivers the most radiation to the cancer and the least radiation to the surrounding healthy tissue.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 05

logo
score

The CNSC is involved in coming up with cancer treatment plans for patients.

The CNSC ensures the facility and the machines are properly maintained and used according to the terms of their CNSC license, and that staff are properly trained and qualified to operate them. Specially trained and provincially licensed doctors at the clinic are responsible for making decisions related to patient treatment and doses.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 06

logo
score

Computerized tomography (CT) scanners are not regulated by the CNSC.

A CT scanner is a type of X-ray equipment that plays an important role in planning and monitoring radiation therapy treatments. The use of such equipment in most hospitals is regulated by the province. Federally run institutions such as veteran’s hospitals are regulated by Health Canada.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 07

logo
score

A medical linear accelerator, also called a linac, is used to treat cancer through an external beam of radiation.

A linac creates a shaped, high-energy radiation beam. The beam follows plotted paths from various angles that pass briefly through healthy tissue while accurately delivering a focused dose of radiation to the cancerous cells.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 08

logo
score

Linac treatments with external beam radiation make patients radioactive.

Just like X-rays at the hospital or dentist's office, radiotherapy treatments with a linac do not contaminate patients with radioactivity or make them radioactive.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 09

logo
score

The radiation beam produced by a linac can pass through ordinary walls.

Rooms licensed to contain linacs must be heavily shielded with up to a few metres of concrete to protect people occupying adjacent areas. A heavier layer of concrete shielding surrounds the linac machine and intercepts its possible beam paths. This is called the “primary” shielding. The entire treatment room is also shielded to absorb any scattered radiation. This is called the “secondary” shielding.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 10

logo
score

It's okay to be in the linac treatment room when a patient is being treated.

Radiation therapy equipment is designed to deliver high and doses of radiation to the patient’s tumour to eradicate the disease. This level of radiation is harmful to humans and no person other than the patient is allowed to remain in the treatment room when the radiation is turned on. CNSC regulations require that rooms licensed to contain linacs have safety systems to prevent anyone else from being in the room. These include interlocked entrances which automatically shut down the beam if someone tries to enter while it is on, emergency stop switches for the operators, “Last Person Out” buttons which force the operator to verify that no-one other than the patient is in the room before they leave, warning lights to warn when the beam is on, and camera systems to provide constant monitoring of the interior of the room.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 11

logo
score

A linac machine is always giving off radiation.

Like an X-Ray machine, a linac emits no radiation when it is turned off. It is safe for the therapist and the patient to remain in the room as long as necessary when the machine is not operating.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 12

logo
score

“Stereotactic radiosurgery” is actually not surgery.

Stereotactic radiosurgery is a non-invasive surgery technique that uses multiple high-energy radiation beams, tightly focused at a single point, to kill the cancer cells of very small tumours in hard-to-access areas like the brain. These beams may be produced all at once by a device with several hundred radioactive sources, or in sequence with an ordinary linac or a specially designed, robotically controlled linac.

Fact or Fiction

Cancer Clinics 13

logo
score

Brachytherapy is radiation therapy delivered by a radioactive source placed inside the body.

Brachytherapy involves placing a radioactive source near or inside cancerous tissue to kill the cancerous cells without affecting healthy tissue.

Fact or Fiction: Cancer Clinics

Your Score

Mythe ou réalité : Les centres de traitement du cancer - CCSN en ligne

Mythe ou réalité : Les centres de traitement du cancer

Mythe ou réalité

Table de matières

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 01

logo
score

La radiothérapie est utilisée dans 60 % des traitements contre le cancer.

La radiothérapie est l’une des méthodes les plus utilisées pour traiter le cancer. Elle peut être utilisée seule ou en association avec d’autres traitements.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 02

logo
score

Puisque les centres de traitement du cancer sont similaires aux hôpitaux, ils sont réglementés par Santé Canada et non par la CCSN.

Au Canada, les provinces et territoires, Santé Canada et la CCSN réglementent des aspects distincts des centres de traitement du cancer. Ces centres doivent détenir les permis de la CCSN appropriés pour utiliser des matières radioactives ou certains types d’appareils produisant des rayonnements. Les inspecteurs de la CCSN s’assurent que les matières radioactives sont manipulées de façon sécuritaire et que les appareils autorisés fonctionnent correctement, sont placés dans des installations où l’on a adopté des mesures de sécurité adéquates et sont exploités par des employés dûment formés.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 03

logo
score

Les personnes qui se trouvent dans la salle d’attente d’un centre de traitement du cancer sont par le fait même exposées à un niveau de rayonnement élevé.

La salle d’attente se trouve parfois près des salles de radiothérapie, mais ces dernières sont bien blindées et font l’objet d’une surveillance minutieuse. Par conséquent, les personnes qui attendent à proximité ne courent aucun danger.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 04

logo
score

Avant qu’un patient reçoive un rayonnement, il faut établir un plan de traitement personnalisé.

Les médecins se servent de tomodensitomètres, d’appareils d’imagerie par résonnance magnétique, de tomographes par émission de positrons ou d’ultrasons pour visionner l’intérieur de l’organisme du patient et délimiter la zone atteinte par le cancer pour repérer l’emplacement et les bords de la tumeur avec précision. Ils établissent ensuite un plan de traitement pour envoyer le plus de rayonnement possible sur les cellules cancéreuses, tout en préservant les tissus sains à proximité autant que possible.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 05

logo
score

La CCSN participe à l’élaboration des plans de traitement du cancer pour les patients.

La CCSN veille à ce que l’installation et les appareils fassent l’objet d’un entretien approprié, qu’ils soient utilisés conformément aux conditions du permis délivré par elle et que les employés soient dûment formés et qualifiés pour les faire fonctionner. Il revient aux médecins du centre de traitement du cancer de prendre les décisions concernant le traitement des patients et les doses à administrer.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 06

logo
score

La CCSN ne réglemente pas les tomodensitomètres.

Le tomodensitomètre est un appareil émettant des rayons X qui joue un rôle important dans la planification et la surveillance de la radiothérapie. L’utilisation de ce type d’appareil dans la plupart des hôpitaux est réglementée par les provinces. Dans les établissements fédéraux, par exemple les hôpitaux d’anciens combattants, la réglementation de ces appareils relève de Santé Canada.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 07

logo
score

Un accélérateur linéaire médical, aussi appelé
« linac », est utilisé pour traiter le cancer au moyen d’un faisceau externe de rayonnement.

Un linac crée un faisceau de rayonnement haute énergie mis en forme. Le faisceau suit des trajectoires tracées sous différents angles qui traversent brièvement les tissus sains, tout en envoyant une dose de rayonnement ciblé sur les cellules cancéreuses.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 08

logo
score

La radiothérapie externe faisant appel au linac rend les patients radioactifs.

Le patient qui subit une radiothérapie au moyen d’un linac ne devient pas pour autant radioactif ou contaminé par la radioactivité – pas plus que celui qui subit une radiographie à l’hôpital ou chez le dentiste.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 09

logo
score

Le faisceau de rayonnement produit par un linac peut traverser un mur ordinaire.

Pour qu’un permis soit délivré par la CCSN, la salle d’un linac doit comporter un blindage de quelques mètres de béton afin de protéger toute personne se trouvant dans une zone adjacente. Le blindage épais en béton qui entoure le linac intercepte les trajectoires éventuelles du rayonnement. C’est ce que l’on appelle le blindage « primaire ». De plus, la salle de traitement proprement dite est blindée pour absorber tout rayonnement diffusé. C’est ce que l’on appelle le blindage « secondaire ».

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 10

logo
score

Il n’est pas dangereux de se trouver dans la salle d’un linac pendant qu’un patient reçoit un traitement.

L’équipement de radiothérapie est conçu pour administrer des doses élevées de rayonnement pour éliminer une tumeur. Ce niveau de rayonnement est dangereux pour l’humain, et seul le patient a le droit d’être dans la salle de traitement quand l’équipement est en marche. Selon la réglementation de la CCSN, les salles autorisées à contenir un linac doivent être dotées d’un système de sûreté qui empêche d’y entrer. Un tel système peut inclure des portes à verrouillage réciproque, qui interrompent immédiatement le faisceau si quelqu’un essaie d’entrer dans la salle, des boutons d’arrêt d’urgence, des boutons à actionner par la dernière personne qui sort de la salle, des voyants avertisseurs indiquant qu’un faisceau est émis, et des systèmes de caméra de surveillance.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 11

logo
score

Un linac émet toujours un rayonnement.

Comme dans le cas d’un appareil à rayons X, lorsque le linac est éteint, il n’émet aucun rayonnement. Le technicien et le patient ne courent alors aucun danger en restant dans la salle aussi longtemps que nécessaire.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 12

logo
score

La « radiochirurgie stéréotaxique » n’est pas à proprement parler une chirurgie.

La radiochirurgie stéréotaxique fait appel à plusieurs faisceaux de rayonnement haute énergie ciblé sur un seul point pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses de très petites tumeurs à des endroits difficiles d’accès, par exemple dans le cerveau. Ces faisceaux peuvent être produits en même temps par un appareil renfermant plusieurs centaines de sources radioactives ou en séquence par un linac ordinaire ou un linac robotisé spécialement conçu à cette fin.

Mythe ou réalité

Centres de traitement du cancer 13

logo
score

La curiethérapie est une radiothérapie administrée au moyen d’une source radioactive placée à l’intérieur du corps.

Pour la curiethérapie, on place une source radioactive à proximité ou à l’intérieur du tissu cancéreux afin de détruire les cellules cancéreuses sans porter atteinte aux tissus sains.

Mythe ou réalité

Votre résultat