Types and sources of radiation

Radiation occurs when energy is emitted by a source and then travels through a medium, such as air, until it is absorbed by matter. Radiation can be described as two basic types, ionizing and non-ionizing radiation.

Non-ionizing radiation

Ionizing radiation

Striking a balance


Non-ionizing radiation

People use and are exposed to non-ionizing radiation sources every day. This form of radiation does not carry enough energy to ionize atoms or molecules. 

Microwave ovens, global positioning systems, cellular telephones, television stations, FM and AM radio, baby monitors, cordless phones, garage-door openers, and ham radios all make use of non-ionizing radiation. Other forms include the earth’s magnetic field, as well as magnetic field exposure from proximity to transmission lines, household wiring and electric appliances. These are defined as extremely low-frequency (ELF) waves.

Ionizing radiation

Some types of radiation have enough energy that they can knock electrons out of their orbits around atoms, upsetting the electron/proton balance and giving the atom a positive charge. Electrically charged molecules and atoms are called ions. The radiation that can produce ions is called ionizing radiation.

There are many types of ionizing radiation. The following are some of the relevant ones:  

Alpha radiation: Alpha particles consist of two protons and two neutrons, and since they have no electrons, carry a positive charge. Due to their size and charge, alpha particles are barely able to penetrate skin and can be stopped completely by a sheet of paper.

Beta radiation: Beta radiation consists of fast moving electrons ejected from the nucleus of an atom. Beta radiation has a negative charge and is about 1/7000th the size of an alpha particle and so is more penetrating. However, it can still be stopped by a small amount of shielding, such as a sheet of plastic.

Gamma radiation: Gamma radiation is a very penetrating type of radiation. It is usually emitted immediately after the ejection of an alpha or beta particle from the nucleus of an atom. Because it has no mass or charge, it can pass through the human body, but will be absorbed by denser materials such as concrete or lead.

X-rays: X-rays are a form of radiation similar to gamma radiation but they are produced mainly by artificial means rather than from radioactive substances.

Neutron radiation: Neutron radiation occurs when neutrons are ejected from the nucleus by nuclear fission and other processes. The nuclear chain reaction is an example of nuclear fission, where a neutron being ejected from one fissioned atom will cause another atom to fission, ejecting more neutrons. Unlike other radiations, neutron radiation is absorbed by materials with lots of hydrogen atoms, like paraffin wax and plastics.

Types of Ionizing Radiation

Top of page

Sources of ionizing radiation

People are constantly exposed to small amounts of ionizing radiation from the environment as they carry out their normal daily activities; this is known as background radiation. We are also exposed through some medical treatments and through activities involving radioactive material.

Natural background radiation

People are constantly exposed to small amounts of ionizing radiation from the environment as they carry out their normal daily activities; this is known as natural background radiation.

Radiation has always been present and is all around us. Life has evolved in a world containing significant levels of ionizing radiation. Our bodies are adapted to it.

The following section outlines sources of natural background radiation. For information on dose levels from these sources, visit the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission's (CNSC's) Radiation Doses page and fact sheet on natural background radiation.

Natural Radiation illustration

The United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) identifies four major sources of public exposure to natural radiation:

  • cosmic radiation
  • terrestrial radiation
  • inhalation
  • ingestion

Doses from Natural Background Radiation

Exposure from cosmic radiation

The earth's outer atmosphere is continually bombarded by cosmic radiation. Usually, cosmic radiation consists of fast moving particles that exist in space and originate from a variety of sources, including the sun and other celestial events in the universe. Cosmic rays are mostly protons but can be other particles or wave energy. Some ionizing radiation will penetrate the earth's atmosphere and become absorbed by humans, which results in natural radiation exposure.

The doses due to natural sources of radiation vary depending on location and habits. Regions at higher altitudes receive more cosmic radiation. The following map shows how levels of cosmic radiation vary with elevations above sea level and longitude and latitude.

Annual outdoor effective dose from cosmic radiation for North America (in microsieverts)

Annual Outdoor Effective Dose from Cosmic Radiation for North America (in microsieverts)

Source: Gratsky et al., 2004

Exposure from terrestrial radiation

The composition of the earth's crust is a major source of natural radiation. The main contributors are natural deposits of uranium, potassium and thorium which, in the process of natural decay, will release small amounts of ionizing radiation. Uranium and thorium are “ubiquitous”, meaning they are found essentially everywhere. Traces of these minerals are also found in building materials so exposure to natural radiation can occur from indoors as well as outdoors.

Exposure through inhalation

Most of the variation in exposure to natural radiation results from inhalation of radioactive gases that are produced by radioactive minerals found in soil and bedrock. Radon is an odourless and colourless radioactive gas that is produced by the decay of uranium. Thoron is a radioactive gas produced by the thorium. Radon and thoron levels vary considerably by location depending on the composition of soil and bedrock. Once released into the air, these gases will normally dilute to harmless levels in the atmosphere but sometimes they become trapped and accumulate inside buildings and are inhaled by occupants. Radon gas poses a health risk not only to uranium miners, but also to homeowners if it is left to collect in the home. On average, it is the largest source of natural radiation exposure. More information on radon gas and the means to control it can be found on Health Canada's website.

Exposure through ingestion

Trace amounts of radioactive minerals are naturally found in the contents of food and drinking water. For instance, vegetables are typically cultivated in soil and ground water which contains radioactive minerals. Once ingested, these minerals result in internal exposure to natural radiation.

Naturally occurring radioactive isotopes, such as potassium-40 and carbon-14, have the same chemical and biological properties as their non-radioactive isotopes. These radioactive and non-radioactive elements are used in building and maintaining our bodies. Natural radioisotopes continually expose us to radiation. The table below identifies the amount of radioactivity from potassium-40 contained in about 500 grams of different food products. A becquerel is a unit of radioactivity, equal to one transformation (decay) per second.

Table: Potassium-40 content in food
Food Becquerel (Bq) per 500 grams brazil nuts
Red meat 56
Carrot 63
White potato 63
Banana 65
Lima bean 86
Brazil nut 103 Brazil nuts also naturally contain radium-226 (between 19 and 130 Bq per 500 grams.)

Source: Handbook of Radiation Measurement and Protection, Brodsky, A. CRC Press 1978

The human body also contains several radioactive isotopes. The table below contains a list of some of the isotopes naturally found in the body.

Table: Radioactive isotopes in the body (70 kg adult)
Isotopes Amount of radioactivity in Bq
Uranium 2.32,3,5
Thorium 0.213
Potassium-40 4,0003
Radium-266 1.13
Carbon-14 3,7003
Tritium 234
Polonium-210 403,5

2 ICRP-23 (1975)
3 Environmental Radioactivity from Natural, Industrial and Military Sources, Eisenbud, M and Gesell T. Academic Press, Inc. 1997
4 UNSCEAR 2000
5 ICRP-30 (1980)

Top of page

Artificial sources of radiation


Atmospheric testing: The atmospheric testing of atomic weapons from the end of the Second World War until as late as 1980 released radioactive material, called fallout, into the air. As the fallout settled to the ground, it was incorporated into the environment. Much of the fallout had short half-lives and no longer exists, but some continues to decay to this day. People and the environment receive smaller and smaller doses from the fallout every year.

Medical sources: Radiation has many uses in medicine. The most well known use is X-ray machines, which use radiation to find broken bones and diagnose disease. X-ray machines are regulated by Health Canada and provincial authorities. Another example is nuclear medicine, which uses radioactive isotopes to diagnose and treat diseases such as cancer. These applications of nuclear medicine, as well as the related equipment, are regulated by the CNSC. The CNSC also licenses those reactors and particle accelerators that produce isotopes destined for medical and industrial applications.

PET Machine

Gamma Camera

Industrial sources:Radiation has a variety of industrial uses that range from nuclear gauges used to build roads to density gauges that measure the flow of material through pipes in factories. It is also used for smoke detectors, some glow-in-the dark exit signs, and to estimate reserves in oil fields. Radiation is also used for sterilization which is done by using large, heavily shielded irradiators. All these uses are licensed by the CNSC.
Nuclear Guage

Nuclear Gauge

Nuclear Fuel Cycle: Nuclear power plants (NPPs) use uranium to drive a chain reaction that produces steam, which in turn drives turbines to produce electricity. As part of their normal activities, NPPs release regulated levels of radioactive material which can expose people to low doses of radiation. Similarly, uranium mines, fuel fabrication plants and radioactive waste facilities release some radioactivity that contributes to the dose of the public.
Uranium Mine

Uranium mine – McClean Lake, SK

 

Top of page

Striking a balance

Normally, there is little that we can do to change or reduce ionizing radiation that comes from natural sources like the sun, soil or rocks. This kind of exposure, while never entirely free of risk, is generally quite low. However, in some cases, natural sources of radioactivity may be unacceptably high and need to be reduced, such as radon gas in the home.

The ionizing radiation that comes from man-made sources and activities is controlled more carefully. In these settings, a balance is struck between the benefits that the radiation provides to society and the risks it imposes on people and the environment. Dose limits are set in order to restrict radiation exposures to both workers and members of the public. In addition, licensees are required to keep all radiation doses as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA), social and economic factors being taken into account. Also, there has to be a net benefit to the use of radiation. For example, smoke detectors are permitted to use radioactive isotopes because smoke detectors save lives.

Top of page

Related information

Other websites

Catégories et sources de rayonnement

Le rayonnement résulte de l'émission d'énergie par une source et de son déplacement à travers un support, comme l'air, jusqu'à ce qu'il soit absorbé par la matière. Il existe deux grands types de rayonnement : le rayonnement non ionisant et le rayonnement ionisant.

Rayonnement non ionisant

Rayonnement ionisant

Trouver un équilibre


Rayonnement non ionisant

Chaque jour, les êtres humains utilisent des sources de rayonnement non ionisant ou y sont exposés. Cette forme de rayonnement ne dégage pas suffisamment d'énergie pour ioniser les atomes ou les molécules.

Les fours à micro-ondes, les systèmes de positionnement global (GPS), les téléphones cellulaires, les stations de télédiffusion, la radio FM et AM, les interphones pour bébés, les téléphones sans fil, les dispositifs d'ouverture de portes de garage et les radioamateurs utilisent tous un rayonnement non ionisant. Parmi les autres formes de rayonnement non ionisant figurent le champ magnétique terrestre, ainsi que le champ magnétique à proximité des lignes de transmission, des câbles et des appareils électriques ménagers. Il s'agit d'ondes mégamétriques (de champs électriques et magnétiques de fréquences extrêmement basses).

Rayonnement ionisant

Certains types de rayonnement possèdent suffisamment d'énergie pour éjecter les électrons de leur orbite autour des atomes et perturber l'équilibre entre électrons et protons, ce qui a pour effet de charger positivement l'atome. Les molécules et les atomes chargés électriquement portent le nom d'ions. Tout rayonnement qui peut produire des ions est un rayonnement ionisant.

Il existe plusieurs types de rayonnement ionisant. Les principaux sont les suivants :

Rayonnement alpha : Les particules alpha se composent de deux protons et de deux neutrons, et puisqu'elles n'ont pas d'électrons, elles portent une charge positive. Du fait de leur taille et de leur charge, les particules alpha peuvent à peine pénétrer dans la peau et sont complètement arrêtées par une feuille de papier.

Rayonnement bêta : Les particules bêta sont des électrons de grande énergie éjectés du noyau d'un atome. Leur charge est négative et leur taille est d'environ 1/7 000 la taille d'une particule alpha, si bien qu'elles sont plus pénétrantes. Il est néanmoins possible de les arrêter avec une protection minimale, comme une feuille de plastique.

Rayonnement gamma : Le rayonnement gamma est un type de rayonnement très pénétrant. Il est généralement émis immédiatement après l'éjection d'une particule alpha ou bêta du noyau d'un atome. Puisqu'il n'a ni masse ni charge, il peut pénétrer dans le corps humain, mais sera absorbé par des matériaux plus denses comme le béton ou le plomb.

Rayons X : Les rayons X se comparent aux rayons gamma et sont essentiellement produits par des moyens artificiels plutôt que par des substances radioactives.

Rayonnement neutronique : Le rayonnement neutronique se produit lorsque des neutrons sont éjectés du noyau par fission nucléaire et par d'autres processus. La réaction nucléaire en chaîne est un exemple de fission nucléaire, où un neutron éjecté d'un atome en fission provoque la fission d'un autre atome, qui éjecte encore plus de neutrons. Contrairement aux autres rayonnements, le rayonnement neutronique est absorbé par des matériaux qui comportent beaucoup d'atomes d'hydrogène, comme la paraffine et les plastiques.

Types de rayonnements ionisants

Haut de la page

Sources de rayonnement ionisant

Rayonnement naturel de fond

Les êtres humains sont constamment exposés à de petites quantités de rayonnement ionisant dans leur environnement naturel lors de l'exécution de leurs activités quotidiennes normales; ce rayonnement porte le nom de rayonnement de fond.

Le rayonnement a toujours été présent et fait partie de notre environnement. Toute la vie s'est développée dans un bain de rayonnement ionisant. Notre organisme y est adapté.

La section suivante donne un aperçu des sources de rayonnement de fond. Pour en savoir plus sur leurs niveaux de dose, visitez la page Web de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) sur les doses de rayonnement. Fiche d'information sur le rayonnement naturel de fond.

Rayonnement naturel

Le Comité scientifique des Nations Unies pour l'étude des effets des rayonnements ionisants (UNSCEAR) énonce quatre sources importantes d'exposition du public au rayonnement naturel :

  • Rayonnement cosmique
  • Rayonnement terrestre
  • Inhalation
  • Ingestion

Rayonnement naturel

Exposition au rayonnement cosmique

L'atmosphère extérieure de la terre est constamment bombardée de rayonnement cosmique, qui se compose habituellement de particules en provenance de l'espace qui se déplacent à grande vitesse. Ce rayonnement a des origines diverses et résulte principalement du soleil et d'autres phénomènes célestes dans l'univers. Le rayonnement cosmique est essentiellement composé de protons, mais peut aussi se composer d'autres particules ou d'énergie des vagues. Une partie du rayonnement ionisant pénètre dans l'atmosphère terrestre et est absorbée par les êtres humains, d'où l'exposition au rayonnement naturel.

Les doses attribuables aux sources de rayonnement naturelles varient selon l'emplacement géographique et les habitudes de vie. Les régions de haute altitude reçoivent plus de rayonnement cosmique. La carte suivante illustre la variation du rayonnement cosmique en fonction de l'élévation au-dessus du niveau de la mer ainsi que de la longitude et de la latitude.

Dose efficace annuelle de rayonnement cosmique à l'extérieur en Amérique du Nord (en microsieverts)

Dose efficace annuelle de rayonnement cosmique à l'extérieur en Amérique du Nord (en microsieverts)

Source : Gratsky et al., 2004

Exposition au rayonnement terrestre

La composition de la croûte terrestre est une importante source de rayonnement. Les principaux facteurs qui y contribuent sont les dépôts naturels d'uranium, de potassium et de thorium qui, lors de la désintégration naturelle, émettent de petites quantités de rayonnement ionisant. L'uranium et le thorium sont « ubiquistes », c'est-à-dire qu'ils sont présents partout. On trouve aussi des quantités infimes de ces minéraux dans les matériaux de construction. L'exposition au rayonnement peut donc se produire aussi bien à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur.

Exposition par inhalation

La plus grande partie de la variation de l'exposition au rayonnement naturel résulte de l'inhalation de gaz radioactifs produits par des minéraux présents dans le sol et le substrat rocheux. Le radon est un gaz radioactif incolore et inodore qui provient de la désintégration de l'uranium. Le thoron est un gaz radioactif produit par le thorium. Les taux de radon et de thoron varient considérablement selon l'emplacement géographique et la composition du sol et du substrat rocheux. Une fois dans l'air, ces gaz se décomposent habituellement dans l'atmosphère en fragments inoffensifs. Ils peuvent cependant rester prisonniers et s'accumuler à l'intérieur des édifices, dans quel cas ils sont inhalés par les occupants. Le radon pose un risque pour la santé non seulement pour les mineurs, mais aussi pour les propriétaires de maison s'il circule librement. En moyenne, il est la plus grande source d'exposition au rayonnement naturel. Vous trouverez plus d'information sur le radon et les moyens de le contrôler sur le site Web de Santé Canada.

Exposition par ingestion

Des quantités négligeables de minéraux radioactifs se trouvent naturellement dans les aliments et l'eau potable. Les légumes, par exemple, sont habituellement cultivés dans le sol et les eaux souterraines, qui contiennent des minéraux radioactifs. Une fois ingérés, ces minéraux donnent lieu à une exposition interne au rayonnement naturel.

Les isotopes radioactifs naturels, comme le potassium 40 et le carbone 14, ont les mêmes propriétés chimiques et biologiques que leurs isotopes non radioactifs. Ces éléments radioactifs et non radioactifs interviennent dans la constitution et le fonctionnement de notre organisme. La présence de radio-isotopes naturels nous expose en permanence au rayonnement.

Le tableau ci-dessous indique la quantité de rayonnement produite par le potassium 40 contenu dans environ 500 grammes de différents produits alimentaires. Le becquerel (Bq) est une unité de radioactivité qui correspond à une transformation (désintégration) par seconde.

Teneur en potassium 40 de quelques aliments

Aliment Radioactivité par 500 grammes, en Bq
Viande rouge 56
Carottes 63
Pommes de terre blanches 63
Bananes 65
Haricots de Lima 86
Noix du Brésil 103
brazil nuts
Les noix du Brésil contiennent aussi naturellement du radium 226 (de 19 à 130 Bq par 500 grammes.)

Source : A. Brodsky, Handbook of Radiation Measurement and Protection, Boca Raton, CRC Press, 1978

Le corps humain contient plusieurs isotopes radioactifs. Le tableau ci-dessous donne la liste de quelques isotopes qui se trouvent naturellement dans notre organisme.

Isotopes radioactifs du corps humain (adulte de 70 kg)

Isotopes Radioactivité, en Bq
Uranium 2,32,3,5
Thorium 0,213
Potassium 40 4 0003
Radium 266 1,13
Carbon 14 3 7003
Tritium 234
Polonium 210 403,5

2 ICRP-23 (1975)
3 M. Eisenbud et T. Gesell, Environmental Radioactivity from Natural, Industrial and Military Sources, New York, Academic Press, 1997.
4 RapportUNSCEAR 2000
5 ICRP-30 (1980)

Haut de la page

Sources artificielles de rayonnement

Essais nucléaires atmosphériques: Les essais atomiques réalisés dans l'atmosphère entre la fin de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et jusqu'à la fin des années 1980, ont eu pour effet de rejeter des éléments radioactifs, ou retombées, dans l'atmosphère. Ces retombées radioactives se sont désintégrées dans l'environnement. La plupart des retombées possédaient une période radioactive courte et ont disparu, mais certaines n'ont pas encore achevé leur désintégration. Les doses de radioactivité dues à ces retombées que reçoivent les êtres humains et l'environnement sont chaque année de plus en plus faibles.

Machine PET
Caméra gamma

Sources médicales: Le rayonnement a de nombreuses applications en médecine. La plus connue est sans doute la radiographie par rayons X, dont les appareils permettent de détecter des fractures osseuses et de diagnostiquer certaines maladies. Les appareils à rayons X sont réglementés par Santé Canada et les autorités provinciales. La médecine nucléaire fait pour sa part appel à des isotopes radioactifs pour diagnostiquer et traiter des maladies comme le cancer. Les applications de la médecine nucléaire ainsi que l'équipement apparenté sont réglementés par la CCSN. La CCSN délivre également des permis aux exploitants de réacteurs et d'accélérateurs de particules qui produisent des isotopes à usage médical et industriel.

Jauge nucléair
Jauge nucléaire

Sources industrielles : Le rayonnement a plusieurs applications industrielles, allant des jauges nucléaires utilisées pour la construction des routes jusqu'aux jauges de densité qui mesurent le débit dans les conduites d'usine. Les détecteurs de fumée, certains panneaux fluorescents et les dispositifs permettant d'évaluer les réserves des champs de pétrole utilisent aussi le rayonnement. Le rayonnement est également employé pour la stérilisation au moyen de gros irradiateurs lourdement blindés. Tous ces usages sont réglementés par la CCSN.

La mine d'uranium
Mine d'uranium, lac McLean, Saskatchewan

Cycle du combustible nucléaire : Les centrales nucléaires utilisent de l'uranium pour déclencher la réaction en chaîne qui produira la vapeur chargée d'actionner les turbines pour la production d'électricité. Dans le cadre de leur activité normale, les centrales nucléaires rejettent des substances radioactives dont les niveaux sont réglementés, mais qui peuvent néanmoins exposer les personnes qui vivent à proximité à de faibles doses de rayonnement. Les mines d'uranium, les usines de fabrication de combustible et les installations de gestion des déchets radioactifs rejettent également une certaine quantité de radioactivité qui contribue à la dose à laquelle le public est exposé.

Trouver un équilibre

Normalement, il y a très peu de choses que nous puissions faire pour changer ou réduire le rayonnement ionisant de sources naturelles, comme le soleil, les sols ou les roches. Ce type d'exposition, bien que non complètement dénuée de risque, est généralement assez faible. Toutefois, dans certains cas, les sources naturelles de radioactivité peuvent atteindre un niveau inacceptable et doivent être réduites. C'est notamment le cas du radon présent dans les maisons.

Le rayonnement ionisant provenant de sources et d'activités artificielles est plus étroitement contrôlé. Dans ces cas précis, il importe de trouver un équilibre entre les avantages que procure le rayonnement à la société et les risques qu'il fait peser sur la santé de la population et sur l'environnement. Des limites de dose sont donc fixées pour restreindre l'exposition des travailleurs et des membres du public au rayonnement. Par ailleurs, les titulaires de permis doivent respecter le principe ALARA et faire en sorte que les expositions, la probabilité de subir une exposition et la valeur des expositions potentielles soient maintenues aussi bas que raisonnablement possible, compte tenu des facteurs économiques et sociaux. Il importe également que le recours au rayonnement procure un bénéfice net. Par exemple, les détecteurs de fumée peuvent utiliser des isotopes radioactifs car ce type de dispositif peut sauver des vies.

Renseignements complémentaires

Autres sites Web