Participant funding notice: Review of re-licensing applications for Key Lake uranium mill, Rabbit Lake uranium mine and mill, and McArthur River uranium mine

February 25, 2013

Participant Funding Application Form (PDF)

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is making available participant funding to help members of the public, Aboriginal groups and other interested stakeholders participate in the review of re-licensing applications of three northern Saskatchewan uranium facilities.

Cameco Corporation has applied to the CNSC to renew its operating licences for the Key Lake uranium mill, Rabbit Lake uranium mine and mill and McArthur River uranium mine. For each of these sites, Cameco has requested a 10-year licence term. Under its Participant Funding Program (PFP), the CNSC is allotting up to $150,000 for interested parties (members of the public, Aboriginal groups and other interested stakeholders) to participate in the public hearing process. The CNSC strongly urges local Aboriginal groups and members of the communities surrounding these mining and milling sites to apply.

Participant funding is being made available to assist interested parties in reviewing and commenting on the licence applications submitted by Cameco and any supporting documentation for these sites (or any combination of these sites). This funding must be used to prepare for and participate in the Commission’s public hearing, scheduled for fall 2013 in Saskatchewan. Funding will be considered for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information to the CNSC. A formal Notice of Public Hearing will soon be issued and will confirm the date and location.

In order to apply for participant funding, interested parties must fill out and return the Participant Funding Application Form. Certain terms and conditions apply.

The deadline to submit a participant funding application is Monday, April 15, 2013. Please note that late or incomplete funding applications will not be considered.

A funding review committee, independent and external to the CNSC, will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

Before submitting a funding application form, interested parties are encouraged to review Cameco’s re-licensing applications and supporting documentation for any (or all) of the facilities: Key Lake mill, Rabbit Lake mine and mill and McArthur River mine. These documents may be requested from the Commission’s Secretariat.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment, and to implement Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Visit the CNSC website to learn more about the PFP and about how to participate in a public Commission hearing. For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact the PFP Administrator.

Media inquiries should be directed to Aurèle Gervais at 613-996-6860.

Avis de financement des participants : Examen des demandes de renouvellement de permis pour l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Key Lake, la mine et l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Rabbit Lake, et la mine d’uranium de McArthur River

Le 25 février 2013

Formulaire de demande du PFP (PDF)

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) offre aux particuliers, aux groupes autochtones et aux autres parties intéressées la possibilité d’obtenir des fonds pour participer à l’examen des demandes de renouvellement de permis visant trois installations d’uranium dans le Nord de la Saskatchewan.

Cameco Corporation a présenté des demandes à la CCSN pour faire renouveler ses permis d’exploitation visant l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Key Lake, la mine et l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Rabbit Lake et la mine d’uranium de McArthur River. Cameco a demandé un permis d’une durée de 10 ans pour chacune de ces installations. Dans le cadre de son Programme de financement des participants (PFP), la CCSN offre jusqu’à 150 000 $ aux particuliers, aux groupes autochtones et aux autres parties intéressées qui désirent participer au processus d’audience publique. La CCSN encourage vivement les groupes autochtones et les membres des collectivités voisines de ces installations d’uranium à présenter une demande de financement.

Les fonds consentis dans le cadre du PFP ont pour but d’aider les intéressés à examiner et à commenter les demandes de renouvellement de permis présentées par Cameco, ainsi que les autres documents justificatifs portant sur les installations visées. Ces fonds doivent donc servir à la préparation et à la présentation d’interventions lors de l’audience publique de la Commission, qui aura lieu en Saskatchewan à l’automne 2013. De l’aide financière pourra ainsi être accordée pour la présentation, à la CCSN, de nouvelles informations pertinentes et de qualité. La CCSN diffusera bientôt un avis officiel qui annoncera la date et l’emplacement de l’audience publique.

Pour demander de l’aide financière, les intéressés doivent remplir et soumettre le Formulaire de demande de financement des participants. Les demandes doivent répondre à certaines conditions.

La date limite pour présenter une demande de financement des participants est le lundi 15 avril 2013. Les demandes tardives ou incomplètes seront rejetées.

Un comité externe et indépendant de la CCSN étudiera les demandes de financement et formulera des recommandations concernant l’affectation des fonds.

Avant de présenter une demande de financement, les intéressés sont invités à examiner les demandes de renouvellement de permis de Cameco ainsi que les documents justificatifs qui portent sur les installations visées, soit l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Key Lake, la mine et l’usine de concentration d’uranium de Rabbit Lake et la mine d’uranium de McArthur River. Pour obtenir ces documents, veuillez écrire au Secrétariat de la Commission.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, de protéger l’environnement et d’assurer le respect des engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire.

Visitez le site Web de la CCSN pour en savoir plus sur le PFP ou pour savoir comment participer à une audience publique de la Commission. Pour toute question au sujet de cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec l’administrateur du PFP.

Les représentants des médias sont priés d’adresser leurs demandes d’information à Aurèle Gervais, au 613‑996‑6860.