Participant funding notice: Participation in the Commission hearing for the Saskatchewan Research Council's licence application for the Gunnar Remediation Project

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is offering participant funding to help members of the public, Aboriginal groups and other interested stakeholders participate in the review of the Saskatchewan Research Council's licence application for the Gunnar Remediation Project.

The Saskatchewan Research Council (SRC) has applied to the CNSC for a 10-year licence in order to complete remediation of the former Gunnar uranium mine and mill site in northern Saskatchewan. The SRC's remediation plan is currently undergoing a joint federal-provincial environmental assessment (EA) pursuant to the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012.

The Commission will be holding a public hearing to consider the EA and will consider licensing for the remediation project if it is approved. Under its Participant Funding Program (PFP), the CNSC is allotting up to $25,000 for members of the public, Aboriginal groups and other interested stakeholders to participate in the public hearing process.

In 2008, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEAA) offered funding through its PFP to support public and Aboriginal participation in the EA review process. The CNSC is offering participant funding to assist interested parties in attending the Commission hearing and reviewing licensing materials related to the licence application.

Funding must be used to prepare for and participate in the Commission's public hearing, tentatively scheduled for May 2014. Funding will be considered for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information to the Commission. Note that, consistent with the terms and conditions of the CNSC's PFP, applications related to the EA review process will not be eligible for funding, since CEAA has already offered funding for this phase of the regulatory review process. A formal notice of hearing will soon be issued by the Commission Secretariat, confirming the date and location of the public hearing.

To apply for participant funding, applicants must complete the Participant Funding Application Form and return it to the CNSC PFP administrator. Certain terms and conditions apply.

The deadline to submit a participant funding application form is Friday, January 31, 2014. Please note that late or incomplete funding applications will not be considered.

A funding review committee, independent and external to the CNSC, will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect the health, safety and security of Canadians and the environment, and to implement Canada's international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

For information on how to participate, visit the Participant Funding Program and Participate in a public Commission hearing sections of the CNSC website. For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Lee Brunarski or Adam Levine
Participant Funding Program administrators
613-992-4559
613-947-6382
1-800-668-5284
pfp@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca

Media inquiries should be directed to Aurèle Gervais at 613-996-6860.

Avis au sujet de l'aide financière aux participants : Participation à l'audience de la Commission sur la demande de permis du Saskatchewan Research Council pour le projet de remise en état du site Gunnar

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) offre aux membres du public, aux groupes autochtones et aux autres parties intéressées la possibilité d'obtenir des fonds pour participer à l'examen de la demande de permis du Saskatchewan Research Council pour le projet de remise en état du site Gunnar.

Le Saskatchewan Research Council (SRC) a présenté à la CCSN une demande de permis d'une durée de 10 ans en vue de terminer la remise en état du site de l'ancienne mine et usine de concentration d'uranium Gunnar, dans le Nord de la Saskatchewan. Le plan de remise en état du SRC fait actuellement l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale (EE) conjointe fédérale-provinciale, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (2012).

La Commission tiendra une audience publique en vue d'examiner l'EE et étudiera la possibilité de délivrer un permis pour le projet de remise en état, si l'EE est approuvée. Dans le cadre de son Programme de financement des participants (PFP), la CCSN accorde jusqu'à 25 000 $ aux membres du public, aux groupes autochtones et aux autres parties intéressées pour qu'ils puissent participer au processus d'audience publique.

En 2008, l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale (ACEE) a offert, par l'intermédiaire de son PFP, une aide financière pour faciliter la participation du public et des Autochtones au processus d'examen de l'EE. La CCSN offre des fonds pour aider les parties intéressées à assister à l'audience de la Commission et à examiner les matériaux pour la demande de permis.

Les fonds consentis dans le cadre du PFP doivent servir à se préparer en vue de l'audience publique de la Commission, provisoirement prévue pour mai 2014 et à y participer. De l'aide financière pourra ainsi être accordée pour la présentation, à la CCSN, de renseignements nouveaux et utiles. Veuillez prendre note que, conformément aux conditions du PFP de la CCSN, les demandes liées au processus d'examen de l'EE ne sont pas admissibles à un financement, puisque l'ACEE a déjà offert une aide pour cette étape du processus d'examen réglementaire. Un avis d'audience officiel sera bientôt publié par le Secrétariat de la Commission, confirmant la date et le lieu de l'audience publique.

Pour demander une aide financière, les personnes intéressées doivent remplir le Formulaire de demande du Programme de financement des participants et le retourner à l'administrateur du PFP de la CCSN. Les demandes doivent respecter certaines conditions.

La date limite de présentation des demandes d'aide financière est le vendredi 31 janvier 2014. Veuillez noter que les demandes incomplètes ou tardives ne seront pas retenues.

Un comité d'examen de l'aide financière, indépendant et externe, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l'attribution des fonds.

La CCSN réglemente l'utilisation de l'énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité des Canadiens, de protéger l'environnement et de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l'égard de l'utilisation pacifique de l'énergie nucléaire.

Visitez le site Web de la CCSN pour en savoir plus sur le PFP ou pour savoir comment participer à une audience publique de la Commission. Pour toute question au sujet de cette possibilité de financement, communiquez avec l’administrateur du PFP.

Les représentants des médias peuvent adresser leurs questions à Aurèle Gervais, au 613-996-6860.