Biographies of former Presidents of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Dr. Michael Binder (2008–2018)

Dr. Michael Binder

Dr. Michael Binder was President and Chief Executive Officer of the CNSC from 2008 to 2018.

Dr. Binder holds a Ph.D. in physics from the University of Alberta. During his long career as a public servant, he held senior positions at Industry Canada, the Department of Communications, the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada, the Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, the Ministry of State for Urban Affairs and the Defence Research Board.

During his tenure as Industry Canada's Assistant Deputy Minister of Spectrum, Information Technologies and Telecommunications, Dr. Binder oversaw Canada's transition to a network economy. He also managed the regulation of telecommunications industries, the promotion of electronic commerce, and the development and use of world-class information and communications for the economic, social and cultural benefit of Canadians.

As CNSC President, Dr. Binder's mission was to ensure that Canadian nuclear facilities and activities are the safest and most secure in the world.

Linda J. Keen (2001–2008)

Linda J. Keen

Linda Keen was President and Chief Executive Officer of the CNSC from 2001 to 2008.

Keen graduated from the University of Alberta with a bachelor of science degree in chemistry and a master of science degree in agricultural sciences. Beginning her career as a chemist, Keen worked in the agriculture, mining and nuclear fields.

As a certified agrologist, Keen worked for the provinces of Alberta and British Columbia, and for the International Development Research Centre in West Africa. Experience gained in scientific research, trade policy, and international marketing and strategic planning led to her appointment as Director General of Strategic Planning and Coordination for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

Keen also worked at Industry Canada before being appointed Assistant Deputy Minister of Minerals and Metals at Natural Resources Canada. In this role, she was responsible for the development of the Mining Sustainable Development Policy, the regulation of explosives in Canada, task forces on risk management and risk communications, and the CANMET laboratories.

As President of the CNSC, Keen faced many challenges, including the aftermath of the 9/11 terrorist attacks, the 2003 eastern intercontinental power blackout and the closure of the National Research Universal reactor.

Keen was actively involved in the community of women in science. As Honorary Chair of the 2006 Women in Nuclear Global Conference, a member of Women in Science, the first Canadian president of the International Nuclear Regulators' Association and the first Canadian to win the Women in Nuclear Global Award, Keen was committed to the promotion of women in the science community.

Dr. Agnes J. Bishop (1994–2001)

Dr. Agnes J. Bishop

Dr. Agnes J. Bishop, MD, was President of the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB)/Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) from 1994 until 2001.

With an academic background in medicine, Dr. Bishop practiced in Winnipeg where she was a renowned pediatrician specializing in pediatric hematology and oncology. She served as physician-in-chief at the Children's Hospital of Winnipeg, the head of Pediatrics at St. Boniface General Hospital, and chair of the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Manitoba.

Her expertise in the medical field positioned Dr. Bishop as an ideal candidate for President of the AECB and CNSC, reassuring Canadians of the priority the nuclear sector regulator made of health and safety.

Dr. Bishop's term as President coincided with an important moment in the history of the AECB/CNSC. On May 31, 2000, the AECB transitioned to the CNSC under the Nuclear Safety and Control Act. As President, Bishop led efforts to formalize practices and redefined the role of Canada's nuclear regulator.

Dr. Bishop was also responsible for ensuring that the Canadian nuclear sector was prepared for the turn of the millennium. Y2K presented a myriad of potential problems for the nuclear sector, and as Canada's nuclear regulator, the AECB/CNSC had to be prepared for anything.

René J. A. Lévesque (1987–1993)

René J. A. Lévesque

René J. A. Lévesque was President of the AECB from 1987 to 1993.

Mr. Lévesque earned a bachelor of science degree from Concordia University and a Ph.D. from Northwestern University.

While at the University of Maryland in a research position, his work in the nuclear field became widely known and highly regarded. In 1963, the National Research Council offered a particle accelerator to the academic institution willing to make Lévesque the best offer. Valuing Lévesque's contributions to the University of Montréal, the Faculty of Science prepared an innovative proposal in which it offered to create a program designed to accommodate the new technological addition to the department and enhance Lévesque's research potential. The proposal was accepted and Lévesque was given the opportunity to develop a nuclear physics laboratory at the university, the research from which was extensively praised.

Lévesque left the University of Montréal to assume the role of President of the AECB. His contributions to the nuclear sector in both academic and regulatory settings are profound and nationally recognized. For his work, he was named an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Jon. H. Jennekens (1978–1987)

Jon. H. Jennekens

Jon Jennekens was President of the AECB from 1978 to 1987.

Jon Jennekens was born in Toronto on October 21, 1932. He studied mechanical engineering at the Royal Military College in Kingston, Ontario, and received a degree in applied science from Queen's University.

Jennekens began his career as a commissioned officer for the Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Association, serving with UN peacekeeping forces in South Korea. He then spent the rest of his career in the nuclear sector, beginning at the Chalk River Nuclear Laboratories.

Jennekens joined the AECB in 1962 as an assistant scientific advisor and would become one of the CNSC's longest serving presidents.

His time as President of the AECB coincided with two significant nuclear incidents: the accidents at the Three Mile Island and Chernobyl nuclear power plants. These events had a major impact on public perception of the nuclear industry. In response, the AECB made transparency and public outreach a priority.

Under the guidance of President Jennekens, the list of initiatives undertaken to engage Canadians included revised public access policies, public consultation programs, the publication of regulatory agendas, issuing of policy statements for public comment and the appointment of an access to information and privacy coordinator.

Jon Jennekens faced some of the nuclear sector's most tumultuous times, and he guided the establishment of the high standards for openness and accountability that the CNSC continues to uphold to this day.

Alan T. Prince (1975–1978)

Alan T. Prince

Dr. Alan T. Prince was President of the AECB from 1975 to 1978.

Alan Prince received a bachelor's and master's degree in arts from the University of Toronto and was awarded the Coleman Gold Medal in Geology for his expertise in this field of study. He completed his doctoral studies at the University of Chicago.

Following his studies, Prince worked at the National Research Council in Ottawa and at various federal agencies in roles of increasing responsibility, before joining the AECB in 1975.

During his time as President, Prince focused on making communication with Canadians a priority, which continues to this day. He also placed importance on the nuclear sector's responsibility to be accountable for its decisions. Consequently, the Nuclear Liability Act came into force, the Canadian Safeguards Support Program was initiated, the Nuclear Control and Administration Act was tabled in the House of Commons and radioactive contamination clean-up initiatives were implemented.

The defining moment of Prince's time at the AECB arose with the crash of COSMOS 954, a nuclear-powered Soviet surveillance satellite that scattered radioactive debris over a 124,000 km2-area in Canada's Northwest Territories when it re-entered the atmosphere. Together with the U.S., Canada coordinated a clean-up initiative called Operation Morning Light which deployed 200 people to work in the affected region. The AECB was responsible for retrieving and handling radioactive materials, and for conducting environmental and health assessments.

Following the COSMOS 954 incident, there was a call by Canada, the U.S. and other countries to prohibit satellites from containing radioactive materials. In November 1978, the United Nations authorized its Committee on the Peaceful Use of Outer Space to establish a working group to increase the safety of this technology in the exploration of space.

Donald G. Hurst (1970–1974)

Donald G. Hurst

Donald Geoffrey Hurst was the President of the AECB from 1970 to 1974. His term coincided with a significant transition period in the nuclear sector, including the development of international non-proliferation strategies, the discovery of radioactive contamination in Port Hope and the construction of the first nuclear reactors in Canada.

Hurst had significant experience working within the Canadian nuclear sector, which allowed him to address the challenges presented during the early 1970s, and he became known as an influential AECB president.

Donald Hurst was born in St. Austell, England, in 1911. As a child, he immigrated to Canada with his family, spending most of his early life in Montréal, Quebec. He completed bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in physics at McGill University. His studies enabled him to pursue post-doctoral work at Berkeley University and Cambridge University.

An early interest in nuclear physics opened doors for Hurst. While studying at Berkeley, Hurst worked with the newly invented Lawrence cyclotron, an accelerator of subatomic particles. Hurst was also granted access to the Cockcroft cyclotron while at Cambridge University.

Returning to Canada in 1939, Hurst joined the National Research Council. In 1945, he moved to Chalk River as part of the NRC's Atomic Energy Project. In 1952, this project evolved and became Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL), where Hurst was the Assistant Director of Reactor Research and Development. From 1965 to 1967, he took a leave of absence from the AECL to serve as Director of the Division of Nuclear Power and Reactors with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA).

Retiring in 1974, Hurst continued to dedicate himself to the nuclear sector. He remained the Chairman of the AECB's Reactor Safety Advisory Committee for Ontario Reactors, Executive Director of the Royal Society of Canada, the Chairman and Canadian member of the IAEA's Senior Advisory Group for the Production of Safety Codes and Guides, and a co-author of the book Canada Enters the Nuclear Age.

George C. Laurence (1961–1970)

George C. Laurence

George Laurence was President of the AECB between 1961 and 1970. He served as Chairman of the Reactor Safety Advisory Committee, which was responsible for the health and safety of nuclear reactors and power stations.

George Craig Laurence was born in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, in 1905. He attended Dalhousie University in Halifax, where he graduated with bachelor's and master's degrees in science. Following this, he pursued a doctoral degree at Cambridge University under the guidance of Ernest Rutherford who was at the forefront of the nuclear field when Laurence began his doctoral degree.

In 1930, Laurence returned to Canada to work for the National Research Council where he established a laboratory to study radiation. The primary focus of his work was to develop methods of measuring radiation in the treatment of cancer. Practitioners understood the need to protect patients from radiation, but it was a new field of study.

In 1939, like many other physicists at the time, Laurence developed an awareness of and an intense interest in the potential power of fission. He was the first to induce fission by neutrons in a large quantity of uranium surrounded by carbon, illustrating the potential use of these materials for the creation of nuclear energy.

In 1945, Dr. Laurence moved to Chalk River, where he continued his work on nuclear reactor design with ZEEP, NRX and NRU units. From 1946 to 1947, he served as scientific advisor to the Canadian delegation to the United Nations Atomic Energy Commission. In 1950, when ideas for a distinctive Canadian nuclear power system were being developed, Laurence played a key role in implementing the design and construction.

Dr. G.C. Laurence received many awards for his contributions to nuclear physics, including from the Canadian Association of Physicists, the Canadian Nuclear Association and the American Nuclear Society.

Chalmers J. MacKenzie (1948–1961)

Chalmers J. MacKenzie

Chalmers Jack Mackenzie was the second and longest serving president of the AECB and CNSC, leading the organization for 13 years between 1948 and 1961.

Mackenzie was born in St. Stephen, New Brunswick, on July 10, 1888. The son of a master mason and builder, he was the youngest of six children. In 1909, he graduated from Dalhousie University with a degree in civil engineering.

After receiving his degree, Mackenzie was invited to create an engineering program at the University of Saskatchewan. After dedicating a couple of years to the program, and shortly after commencing his position as professor of engineering, he left to pursue further education at Harvard University. Upon earning a master's degree in civil engineering, Mackenzie returned to teach at the University of Saskatchewan.

During the First World War, Mackenzie served with the Canadian Expeditionary Force in France, rising to the rank of captain and earning the Military Cross. At the end of the war, Mackenzie returned to the University of Saskatchewan as the Dean of Engineering.

Following his career at the University of Saskatchewan, Mackenzie was appointed to the National Research Council Advisory Board and later as President of Atomic Energy of Canada Ltd. (AECL), then a newly formed Crown corporation. This led to his appointment as President of the AECB, the predecessor of the CNSC.

In light of his contribution to the scientific, academic, nuclear and military communities, Mackenzie received an array of awards of recognition. He is an important figure in the history of our organization and in Canadian history.

Andrew McNaughton (1946–1948)

Andrew McNaughton

Andrew George Latta McNaughton was the first president of the Atomic Energy Control Board (AECB), the predecessor of the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CCSN). He initiated the tradition of ensuring a safe nuclear industry for Canadians. McNaughton held the AECB presidency from 1946 until 1948.

McNaughton was born in Moosomin, Saskatchewan (formerly of the Northwest Territories), in 1887. He attended McGill University, where he graduated with both a bachelor and master of science degree in physics and engineering.

In 1909, McNaughton enlisted in the militia, and in 1914 he joined the 4th Battery of the Canadian Expeditionary Corps. With his scientific background and leadership skills, he was promoted rapidly. In under 20 years, McNaughton received six promotions, rising through the ranks from lieutenant to major-general. By 1944, Andrew McNaughton was a Canadian general.

In 1944, Prime Minister Mackenzie King appointed McNaughton Minister of Defence. Later, he became Canada's representative to the United Nations Atomic Energy Commission. After his term as President of the AECB ended, McNaughton spent the remainder of his working years as a Commission member, and later, as Chairman of the Canadian Section of the International Joint Commission.

For 50 years, General Andrew McNaughton was intricately involved in forging Canada's future. As a soldier, inventor, scientist, engineer, politician, diplomat and executive, McNaughton created a name for himself in Canadian history and in CNSC history.

Date modified:

Biographies des anciens présidents de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Michael Binder (2008–2018)

Dr. Michael Binder

Michael Binder, Ph. D., occupe le poste de président et premier dirigeant de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) de 2008 à 2018.

M. Binder est titulaire d’un doctorat en physique de l’Université de l’Alberta. Au cours de sa longue carrière dans la fonction publique, il occupe des postes de haut niveau à Industrie Canada, à Communications Canada, au Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada, à la Société canadienne d’hypothèques et de logement, au ministère d’État chargé des Affaires urbaines et au Conseil de recherches pour la défense.

Pendant son mandat à titre de sous-ministre adjoint, Spectre, Technologies de l’information et Télécommunications, à Industrie Canada, M. Binder supervise la transition du Canada vers une net-économie. Il est également responsable de la réglementation des industries de télécommunications, de la promotion du commerce électronique, ainsi que de l’élaboration et de l’utilisation de technologies de l’information et des communications de calibre mondial, et ce, dans l’intérêt économique, social et culturel des Canadiens.

À titre de président de la CCSN, M. Binder a pour mission de veiller à ce que les installations et activités nucléaires canadiennes soient les plus sûres et sécuritaires du monde.

 

Linda J. Keen (2001–2008)

Linda J. Keen

Mme Keen est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès sciences avec spécialisation en chimie et d’une maîtrise ès sciences avec spécialisation en sciences agronomiques de l’Université de l’Alberta. Au début de sa carrière, elle travaille comme chimiste dans plusieurs domaines, dont l’agriculture, l’exploitation minière et le secteur nucléaire.

En tant qu’agrologue professionnelle, elle travaille en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique, ainsi que pour le Centre de recherches pour le développement international en Afrique de l’Ouest. L’expérience qu’elle acquiert en recherche scientifique, en politique commerciale, en marketing international et en planification stratégique la mène à un poste de directrice générale, Planification stratégique et coordination, auprès d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada.

Mme Keen travaille ensuite à Industrie Canada avant d’être nommée sous-ministre adjointe, Minéraux et métaux, à Ressources naturelles Canada. À ce titre, elle est responsable de l’élaboration de la politique sur le développement durable dans le domaine des minéraux et des métaux, de la réglementation des explosifs au Canada, des groupes de travail sur la gestion du risque et la communication du risque, ainsi que des Laboratoires de CANMET.

En qualité de présidente de la CCSN, Mme Keen est confrontée à de nombreux défis, dont ceux qui se greffent à la période suivant les attaques terroristes du 11 septembre, à la panne de courant de 2003 qui touche l’Est du continent, et à l’arrêt du réacteur national de recherche universel.

Mme Keen participe activement au sein de la communauté des femmes qui œuvrent dans le domaine des sciences. En tant que présidente honoraire de la conférence mondiale 2006 de Women in Nuclear, membre du groupe Les femmes en sciences (Women in Science), première présidente canadienne de l’International Nuclear Regulators’ Association et première Canadienne à recevoir le prix Women in Nuclear Global Award, elle contribue grandement à la promotion du rôle des femmes dans la collectivité scientifique.

Agnes J. Bishop (1994–2001)

Dr. Agnes J. Bishop

La Dre Agnes J. Bishop, préside la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique/Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCEA/CCSN) de 1994 à 2001.

Avant de se joindre à la CCEA, la Dre Bishop pratique la médecine à Winnipeg. Pédiatre renommée se spécialisant en hématologie et oncologie pédiatriques, Dre Bishop occupe des postes de haut niveau : médecin-chef à l’Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg, chef du département de pédiatrie à l’Hôpital général Saint-Boniface et présidente du département de pédiatrie à l’Université du Manitoba.

Son expertise dans le domaine médical fait d’elle la candidate idéale pour la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique et la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, donnant aux Canadiens l’assurance que la santé et la sécurité sont des priorités pour l’organisme de réglementation du secteur nucléaire. 

Le mandat de la Dre Bishop est marqué par l’un des moments les plus importants de l’histoire de la CCEA/CCSN. Le 31 mai 2000, la CCEA devient la CCSN en vertu de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires. En qualité de présidente, la Dre Bishop dirige les efforts visant à officialiser les pratiques et redéfinir le rôle de l’organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada.

La Dre Bishop assume également la responsabilité de veiller à ce que le secteur nucléaire canadien soit prêt pour le passage à l’an 2000, qui a le potentiel de poser une myriade de problèmes pour le secteur nucléaire. La CCEA/CCSN, en tant qu’organisme de réglementation nucléaire du Canada, doit être en mesure de faire face à toute situation.

René J. A. Lévesque (1987–1993)

René J. A. Lévesque

René J. A. Lévesque assume la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1987 à 1993.

M. Lévesque obtient un baccalauréat ès sciences de l’Université Concordia et un doctorat de l’Université Northwestern.

Alors qu’il occupe un poste de chercheur à l’université du Maryland, ses travaux dans le domaine nucléaire sont largement connus et très appréciés. En 1963, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada offre de faire don d’un accélérateur de particules à l’établissement universitaire prêt à soumettre la meilleure offre à M. Lévesque. Accordant une grande importance à la contribution de M. Lévesque à l’Université de Montréal, le Département des sciences élabore une proposition novatrice : offrir de créer un programme adapté à cette nouvelle acquisition technologique et renforcer le potentiel de recherche de M. Lévesque. La proposition de l’Université de Montréal est retenue, et M. Lévesque a alors l’occasion de mettre sur pied un laboratoire de physique nucléaire à l’Université. Les recherches de qualité réalisées à cette installation sont largement saluées.

M. Lévesque quitte l’Université de Montréal pour se joindre à la CCEA à titre de président. Son apport au secteur nucléaire, tant dans le domaine universitaire que sur le plan de la réglementation, est considérable et reconnu partout au pays. Il est d’ailleurs nommé officier de l’Ordre du Canada en reconnaissance de son travail.

Jon. H. Jennekens (1978–1987)

Jon. H. Jennekens

Jon Jennekens préside la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1978 à 1987.

M. Jennekens naît à Toronto le 21 octobre 1932. Il étudie en génie mécanique à Kingston, au Collège militaire royal, et il poursuit ses études à l’Université Queen’s, où il obtient un diplôme en sciences appliquées.

Il a entrepris sa carrière à titre d’officier commissionné pour la Royal Canadian Electrical and Mechanical Engineering Association, où il a servi au sein du corps de maintien de la paix des Nations Unies en Corée du Sud. Il a ensuite consacré sa carrière au secteur nucléaire, en commençant par les Laboratoires nucléaires de Chalk River.

M. Jennekens se joint à la CCEA en 1962 en qualité de conseiller scientifique adjoint et devient éventuellement l’un des présidents ayant assumé le plus long mandat dans l’histoire de la CCEA.

Son mandat à titre de président de la CCEA est marqué par deux accidents graves à des centrales nucléaires : Three Mile Island et Tchernobyl. Ces événements ont d’importantes répercussions sur la perception du public relativement à l’énergie nucléaire. En réaction à ces événements, la CCEA modifie ses priorités et fait en sorte que la transparence et la mobilisation du public aient préséance.

Sous la direction du président Jennekens, la CCEA prend de nombreuses initiatives pour nouer le dialogue avec les Canadiens, dont l’adoption de nouvelles politiques sur l’accès du public, des programmes de consultation du public, des annonces sur les programmes de réglementation, la diffusion d’énoncés stratégiques visant à recueillir les commentaires du public, de même que la nomination d’un coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels.

M. Jennekens affronte sans nul doute l’une des périodes les plus tumultueuses de l’histoire du secteur nucléaire, mais il sait guider l’organisation dans l’établissement des normes élevées de transparence et de reddition de comptes qui sont encore en vigueur à la CCSN.

Alan T. Prince (1975–1978)

Alan T. Prince

Alan T. Prince, Ph. D., préside la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1975 à 1978.

Il obtient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise ès arts de l’Université de Toronto, qui lui décerne d’ailleurs la médaille d’or Coleman en géologie en reconnaissance de son expertise dans ce domaine. Il obtient ensuite son doctorat de l’université de Chicago.

Après ses études, M. Prince travaille auprès du Conseil national de recherches du Canada de même qu’auprès de diverses agences fédérales et occupe des postes à responsabilités croissantes avant de se joindre à la CCEA en 1975.

Au cours de son mandat à la présidence de la CCEA, il s’attache à privilégier la communication avec la population canadienne, une priorité qui perdure encore aujourd'hui. Il accorde une grande importance à la responsabilité du secteur nucléaire de rendre compte de ses décisions. Par conséquent, la Loi sur la responsabilité nucléaire entre en vigueur, le Programme canadien à l’appui des garanties est lancé, le projet de Loi sur le contrôle et l'administration nucléaires est déposé à la Chambre des communes, et des mesures d’assainissement de sols contaminés par des matières radioactives sont prises.

Le moment décisif du passage de M. Prince à la CCEA survient lorsque le COSMOS 954, un satellite de surveillance soviétique à propulsion nucléaire, s’écrase et disperse des débris sur 124 000 km2 dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest lorsqu’il entre dans l’atmosphère. Le Canada et les États-Unis coordonnent l’initiative de nettoyage Opération Morning Light, déployant quelque 200 personnes pour prendre part aux travaux dans la région touchée. La CCEA est chargée de récupérer et de traiter les matières radioactives ainsi que de réaliser des évaluations environnementales et sanitaires.

À la suite de l’incident du COSMOS 954, le Canada, les États-Unis et d’autres pays réclament que l’on interdise que les satellites contiennent des matières radioactives. En novembre 1978, les Nations Unies autorisent leur Comité des utilisations pacifiques de l’espace extra-atmosphérique à créer un groupe de travail pour accroître la sécurité de cette technologie dans l’exploration de l’espace.

Donald G. Hurst (1970–1974)

Donald G. Hurst

Donald Geoffrey Hurst assure la présidence de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA) de 1970 à 1974. Son mandat coïncide avec une période de changements importants dans le secteur nucléaire marquée notamment par l’établissement de stratégies internationales de non-prolifération, la découverte d’une contamination radioactive à Port Hope et la construction des premiers réacteurs nucléaires au Canada.

Sa vaste expérience du secteur nucléaire canadien lui permet de relever les défis qui se présentent au début des années 1970 et de devenir un président influent de la CCEA.

Donald Hurst naît à St. Austell, en Angleterre, en 1911. Enfant, il immigre au Canada avec sa famille et passe la majeure partie de sa jeunesse à Montréal (Québec). Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat, d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en physique de l’Université McGill qui lui permettent de poursuivre des études postdoctorales à l’université Berkeley et à l’université Cambridge.

Un intérêt précoce pour la physique nucléaire ouvre des portes à M. Hurst. Pendant ses études à Berkeley, il travaille avec le nouveau cyclotron de Lawrence, un accélérateur de particules subatomiques. Il a aussi accès au cyclotron Cockcroft pendant ses études à l’université Cambridge.

M. Hurst revient au Canada en 1939 pour se joindre à la Division de l’énergie et des réacteurs nucléaires du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC). En 1945, il déménage à Chalk River pour participer au projet d’énergie atomique du CNRC. En 1952, ce projet évolue pour donner naissance à Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL), où M. Hurst occupe le poste de directeur adjoint à la Recherche-développement – Réacteurs. De 1965 à 1967, il prend congé à EACL pour jouer le rôle de directeur à la Division de l’énergie et des réacteurs nucléaires à l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA).

Après sa retraite en 1974, M. Hurst continue de se passionner pour le secteur nucléaire. Il demeure président du Comité consultatif de la sûreté des réacteurs (Ontario) de la CCEA, directeur exécutif de la Société royale du Canada ainsi que président et membre canadien du Groupe consultatif supérieur de la production des codes et des guides de sûreté de l’AIEA. Il coécrit également l’ouvrage intitulé Canada Enters the Nuclear Age.

George C. Laurence (1961–1970)

George C. Laurence

George Craig Laurence est président de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique de 1961 à 1970. Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, il préside le Comité consultatif de la sûreté des réacteurs, un comité chargé des questions de santé ainsi que de la sûreté des réacteurs nucléaires et des centrales.

M. Laurence naît à Charlottetown, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, en 1905. Il fréquente l’Université Dalhousie à Halifax, où il obtient un baccalauréat ainsi qu’une maîtrise en sciences. Il obtient ensuite un doctorat de l’Université de Cambridge, sous la direction d’Ernest Rutherford, qui est à l’avant-garde du domaine nucléaire au moment où George Laurence entreprend son doctorat.

En 1930, M. Laurence revient au Canada pour travailler au Conseil national de recherches du Canada, où il met sur pied un laboratoire pour étudier les effets du rayonnement. Ce laboratoire doit servir à élaborer des méthodes pour mesurer le rayonnement dans le domaine du traitement du cancer. Les médecins savent déjà qu’ils doivent assurer la protection de leurs patients contre le rayonnement, mais ce domaine de recherche est nouveau.

En 1939, comme beaucoup d’autres physiciens à l’époque, M. Laurence prend de plus en plus conscience du potentiel énergétique que représente la fission et il s’y intéresse vivement. Il devient le premier à provoquer la fission en utilisant des neutrons avec une grande quantité d’uranium entourée de carbone, illustrant l’utilisation future que l’on pouvait faire de ces matières pour créer de l’énergie nucléaire.

En 1945, M. Laurence déménage à Chalk River pour poursuivre ses travaux de conception d’un réacteur nucléaire avec les modèles ZEEP, NRX et NRU. De 1946 à 1947, il œuvre en tant que conseiller scientifique auprès de la délégation canadienne de la Commission de l’énergie atomique des Nations Unies. En 1950, alors que des idées sont lancées pour créer une centrale nucléaire distincte au Canada, il joue un rôle déterminant dans sa conception et sa construction.

George Laurence reçoit de nombreux prix pour son apport dans le domaine de la physique nucléaire, notamment de la part de l’Association canadienne des physiciens et des physiciennes, de l’Association nucléaire canadienne et de l’American Nuclear Society.

Chalmers J. MacKenzie (1948–1961)

Chalmers J. MacKenzie

Chalmers Jack Mackenzie est le deuxième président de la CCEA et celui qui occupe ces fonctions le plus longtemps, dirigeant l’organisation pendant 13 ans, soit de 1948 à 1961.

M. Mackenzie naît à St. Stephen, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 10 juillet 1888. Il est le plus jeune des six enfants d’un maître maçon et constructeur. En 1909, il obtient un diplôme en génie civil de l’Université Dalhousie.

Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat, il est invité à créer un programme d’ingénierie à l’Université de la Saskatchewan. Il consacre quelques années à ce programme, mais peu de temps après avoir assumé ses fonctions de professeur de génie, il quitte son poste pour poursuivre ses études à l’université Harvard. Il y obtient une maîtrise en génie civil, puis revient enseigner à l’Université de la Saskatchewan.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, il sert au sein du Corps expéditionnaire canadien en France, s’élève au rang de capitaine et reçoit la Croix militaire. À la fin de la guerre, M. Mackenzie retourne à l’Université de la Saskatchewan à titre de doyen de l’ingénierie.

Après sa carrière à l’Université de la Saskatchewan, il est nommé au conseil consultatif du Conseil national de recherches du Canada, puis il devient président d’Énergie atomique du Canada limitée, alors une toute nouvelle société d’État. Par la suite, il est nommé président de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (la CCEA, ancêtre de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire [CCSN]).

En reconnaissance de son apport aux milieux scientifique, universitaire, nucléaire et militaire, M. Mackenzie reçoit un éventail d’attestations de mérite. Il occupe une place déterminante dans l’histoire de notre organisation et celle du Canada.

Andrew McNaughton (1946–1948)

Andrew McNaughton

Andrew George Latta McNaughton est le premier président de la Commission de contrôle de l’énergie atomique (CCEA), l’ancêtre de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). Il est à l’origine de la tradition consistant à assurer la sûreté du secteur nucléaire pour les Canadiens. Il occupe le poste de président de la CCEA de 1946 à 1948.

Il naît en 1887 à Moosomin, en Saskatchewan (qui faisait anciennement partie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Il étudie à l’Université McGill où il obtient un baccalauréat et une maîtrise ès sciences en physique et en génie.

En 1909, M. McNaughton s’enrôle dans la milice et, en 1914, il rejoint la 4e batterie du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Son bagage scientifique et ses aptitudes en leadership lui valent des promotions rapides. En moins de 20 ans, il reçoit six promotions, passant du grade de lieutenant à celui de major général. En 1944, il est promu général.

En 1944, le premier ministre Mackenzie King nomme M. McNaughton ministre de la Défense. Plus tard, il devient le représentant du Canada auprès de la Commission de l’énergie atomique des Nations Unies.

Après la fin de son mandat à la présidence de la CCEA, M. McNaughton passe le reste de sa carrière en tant que commissaire, puis à titre de président national de la section canadienne de la Commission mixte internationale.

Pendant 50 ans, il participe étroitement à la définition du Canada tel que nous le connaissons aujourd’hui. En tant que soldat, inventeur, scientifique, ingénieur, politicien, diplomate et dirigeant, il se taille une place dans l’histoire canadienne et dans celle de la CCSN.

Dernière mise à jour :