CNSC Executive Committee Members

President and CEO

more about Dr. Rumina Velshi

One member of the Commission is designated as the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission’s (CNSC’s) President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO). This position is currently held by Ms. Rumina Velshi. Read more about Ms. Rumina Velshi.

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, BSc

Ramzi Jammal,
Executive Vice-President and
Chief Regulatory Operations Officer

Regulatory Operations Branch

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, BSc
Executive Vice-President and Chief Regulatory Operations Officer
Regulatory Operations Branch, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

Ramzi Jammal has worked for the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) since 1998, holding progressively senior positions. He has accumulated over 35 years of experience in the nuclear industry, combining management skills with scientific expertise, and representing the CNSC in various international activities. These include the co-chairing of the IAEA Fukushima report, leading Canadian delegations to the Convention on Nuclear Safety, and the Joint Convention on the Safety of Spent Nuclear Fuel Management and on the Safety of Radioactive waste management.

In 2016, Ramzi Jammal was elected President of the Convention on Nuclear Safety by the Contracting parties, a position he held until October 2018. He also sits on the IAEA Commission on Safety Standards. He was instrumental in the development and establishment of the IAEA Code of Conduct for the Safety and Security of Radioactive Sources, and the international categorization of radioactive sources. He also played a key role in ensuring that the recommendations of the International Commission on Radiation Protection complemented the CNSC’s regulatory needs.

As the Chief Regulatory Operations Officer, he led the development of the CNSC regulatory action plan in response to the Fukushima Daiichi accident.

Peter Elder, Vice-President

Peter Elder,
Vice-President and Chief Science Officer

Technical Support Branch

Peter Elder, MSc (Eng), BSc (Engineering Physics)
Vice-President and Chief Science Officer
Technical Support Branch, Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

Peter Elder has been working for the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission for over 20 years in various regulatory roles covering the entire nuclear fuel cycle. He started as a technical specialist in 1996 as a fuel performance and safety analyst, and moved on to become a project manager in power reactor licensing. He has also occupied a variety of management roles throughout his career at the CNSC. He has experience in all areas of the organization’s mandate: safety, security, safeguards and environmental protection. He has also served as a nuclear counsellor at the Permanent Mission to the International Organizations in Vienna. In this role, he advised the Canadian government on International Atomic Energy Agency activities in nuclear safety and security, emergency management and technical cooperation.

Before joining the CNSC, he worked for Atomic Energy Canada Limited as a section head and research scientist in the area of high-temperature fuel behaviour and fission product release. He co-authored a number of scientific papers during this period on fuel behaviour under accident conditions, and was involved in several international collaborations in this area.

He completed a Master's in Materials Engineering from Queen’s University following his undergraduate degree in Engineering Science (Physics Option) from the University of Toronto. He was appointed Vice-President of the CNSC’s Technical Support Branch in April 2018.

Liane Sauer, Interim Vice-President

Liane Sauer,
Interim Vice-President and
Chief Communications Officer

Regulatory Affairs Branch

Liane Sauer
Interim Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs, and Chief Communications Officer

Liane Sauer has been with the CNSC since 2013. Before accepting the position of Vice-President, Regulatory Affairs on an interim basis, she was the organization’s Director General, Strategic Planning, and was responsible for strategic policy, international and government relations, Indigenous Consultations and relations, regulatory research, evaluation, and planning and performance.

Before joining the CNSC, Liane previously held the position of Director General, Corporate Governance and Accountability with the Canada Border Services Agency, where she was also Chief Risk Officer. Prior to that, she spent many years with the Canada Revenue Agency, the last 4 of which were devoted to building the first Enterprise Risk Management Program. Liane began her public service career working for the Canadian International Development Agency, where she managed development assistance programs in Southeast Asia and Central and Eastern Europe. She is the Chair of the Standards Council Canada / CSA Group’s harmonized Risk Management Technical Committee, and has represented Canada at meetings of the International Organization for Standardization since 2015.

Liane holds a master of science in international relations from the London School of Economics and a bachelor of arts in history from McGill University.

Stéphane Cyr, Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer

Stéphane Cyr,
Vice-President and
Chief Financial Officer

Corporate Services Branch

Stéphane Cyr
Vice-President, Corporate Services, and Chief Financial Officer

Stéphane Cyr has been Vice-President, Corporate Services, and Chief Financial Officer of the CNSC since 2013. He joined the CNSC in 2009 as Director General, Finance and Administration. Since then, he has overseen a number of major initiatives and projects, such as the establishment of a cost recovery–based financial framework, the construction of the CNSC’s laboratory, the introduction of an integrated management reporting framework and the development of a financial guarantee program. Stéphane led the CNSC’s Digital Transformation, Financial Management Transformation and Workforce Renewal Strategy, and most recently oversaw the development of the CNSC’s Future of Work initiative.

Stéphane has been the CNSC’s mental health and inclusion champion since 2016. 

From 2007 to 2009, Stéphane developed his skills at the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, where he held the position of Director General, Research Knowledge Creation Program, and later Director General, Finance and Corporate Planning.

From 2004 to 2007, Stéphane served as Executive Director, Financial Management Services, and Director, Transformation, at Human Resources and Social Development Canada. Prior to that, he worked at the Canadian Food Inspection Agency as Director, Accounting and Financial Systems, where he spearheaded, in particular, the implementation of the financial and reporting system and improvements to management and accounting practices.

He began his career at the Canadian International Development Agency, where he held several accounting and financial policy positions.

Stéphane is a graduate of the public service’s Executive Leadership Development Program (2018) and Accelerated Executive Development Program (2010), and the recipient of CPA Canada’s 2016 Award of Excellence in Innovation.

Stéphane is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada and the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec.

Lisa Thiele, Senior Counsel and Director

Lisa Thiele,
Senior General Counsel

Legal Services

Lisa Thiele
Senior General Counsel

Lisa Thiele became Senior General Counsel at the CNSC in 2014. In this position, she brings her legal and strategic expertise to the CNSC’s Executive Committee and leads the in-house legal services team, which provides legal support across all business lines throughout the organization. She is also counsel to the Commission in its quasi-judicial tribunal role in conducting regular public hearings and meetings across Canada.

Lisa has extensive experience and expertise in nuclear regulatory law at both the national and international levels. An active member of the International Nuclear Law Association, she serves on the Board of Directors of its Canadian branch, the Canadian Nuclear Law Organization. She has been on the faculty of the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Nuclear Law Institute since its inception in 2011 and is a regular lecturer at the International School of Nuclear Law, a graduate diploma program offered at the University of Montpellier in France. She represents Canada as a member of the Nuclear Energy Agency’s Nuclear Law Committee, and has been privileged to serve as a lecturer and mentor in the World Nuclear University’s Summer Institute leadership program. Lisa has a strong commitment to excellence in nuclear law and takes a particular interest in encouraging women to be a part of its development.

With her experience and expertise in administrative law, Lisa also supports the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals’ training program for tribunal members, delivering training to adjudicators on the conduct of quasi-judicial hearings and on the law of evidence in administrative law proceedings. Lisa was called to the Ontario Bar after a clerkship at the Federal Court of Canada, and she remains a member in good standing of the Law Society of Ontario. She holds undergraduate and law degrees from Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario.

Marc Leblanc, Commission Secretary

Marc Leblanc,
Commission Secretary

Commission Secretary

Marc Leblanc

Marc Leblanc has been Commission Secretary since October 2001, and is a member of the CNSC’s Executive Committee and Management Committee. He is the CNSC’s Official Languages Champion, the Informal Conflict Management System Champion and the Administrative Professionals Network Champion. Mr. Leblanc currently serves on the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee (Treasurer) of the Council of Canadian Administrative Tribunals. With more than 35 years of experience in the public service in administrative and business law, he previously occupied legislative policy and senior management positions at Industry Canada, where his last position was Director, Incorporation and Disclosure Services Branch.

Mr. Leblanc has been a member of the Barreau du Québec since 1982. He received a Licence en droit and a graduate studies diploma from the University of Ottawa, for which he obtained the Prix de l’Ambassade de France. He has been teaching corporate and securities law at the University of Ottawa for over two decades, and has been very involved with the École du Barreau du Québec in the business law sector for more than 20 years.

Date modified:

Comité de direction

Présidente et première dirigeante

Mme Rumina Velshi

Un membre de la Commission est désigné président et premier dirigeant de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN). À l'heure actuelle, c'est Mme Rumina Velshi qui occupe ces fonctions. Lisez-en plus au sujet de Mme Rumina Velshi.

Ramzi Jammal, Premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations

Ramzi Jammal,
premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations

Direction générale de la réglementation des opérations

Ramzi Jammal, MBA, B.Sc.
Premier vice-président et chef de la réglementation des opérations
Direction générale de la réglementation des opérations – Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Ramzi Jammal travaille à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) depuis 1998 où il a occupé des postes de direction de plus en plus importants. Il cumule plus de 35 ans d’expérience dans le secteur nucléaire, possède des compétences en gestion et une expertise scientifique, et représente la CCSN dans le cadre de diverses activités internationales. Il a notamment coprésidé un groupe de travail chargé de l’élaboration du rapport de l’AIEA sur Fukushima, et a dirigé les délégations canadiennes aux réunions d’examen de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire et de la Convention commune sur la sûreté de la gestion du combustible usé et sur la sûreté de la gestion des déchets radioactifs.

En 2016, M. Jammal a été nommé président chargé de la Convention sur la sûreté nucléaire par les Parties contractantes, poste qu’il a tenu jusqu’en octobre 2018. Il siège également à la Commission sur les normes de sûreté de l’AIEA. De plus, il a grandement contribué à l’élaboration et à la mise en place du Code de conduite sur la sûreté et la sécurité des sources radioactives de l’AIEA et de la catégorisation internationale des sources radioactives. M. Jammal a aussi joué un rôle clé pour s’assurer que les recommandations de la Commission internationale de protection radiologique permettent de combler les besoins en réglementation de la CCSN.

En tant que chef de la réglementation des opérations, il a dirigé l’élaboration du plan d’action réglementaire de la CCSN en réponse à l’accident à Fukushima Daiichi.

Peter Elder, Vice-président

Peter Elder,
vice-président et conseiller scientifique principal

Direction générale du soutien technique

Peter Elder, M.Sc. ing., B.Sc. (génie physique)
Vice-président et conseiller scientifique principal
Direction générale du soutien technique, Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Peter Elder fait carrière depuis plus de 30 ans à la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire dans divers rôles réglementaires liés au cycle entier du combustible nucléaire. Il s’est joint à l’organisation en 1996 en tant qu’analyste du comportement et de la sûreté du combustible, pour ensuite devenir gestionnaire de projet en autorisation des réacteurs de puissance. Il a aussi occupé divers postes de gestion, et a acquis de l’expérience touchant tous les aspects du mandat de l’organisation : la sûreté, la sécurité, les garanties et la protection de l’environnement. Il a également été conseiller sur le nucléaire pour la mission permanente auprès des organisations internationales, à Vienne. Dans ce rôle, il a donné des conseils au gouvernement canadien sur les activités de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique liées à la sûreté et la sécurité nucléaires, à la gestion des urgences et à la coopération technique.

Avant d’arriver à la CCSN, il a travaillé à Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL) en tant que chef de section et chercheur scientifique dans le domaine du comportement du combustible à haute température et du rejet de produits de fission. Il a corédigé des documents scientifiques sur le comportement du combustible en conditions d’accident pendant cette période, et a participé à plusieurs initiatives de collaboration internationale dans ce domaine.

Peter Elder a obtenu une maîtrise en génie des matériaux de l’Université Queen’s après son baccalauréat en génie (option physique) de l’Université de Toronto.

Il a été nommé vice-président de la Direction générale du soutien technique de la CCSN en avril 2018.

Liane Sauer, vice-présidente

Liane Sauer,
vice-présidente et chef des communications par intérim

Direction générale des affaires réglementaires

Liane Sauer
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires et chef des communications par intérim

Liane Sauer travaille à la CCSN depuis 2013. Avant d’accepter le poste de vice-présidente par intérim, Affaires réglementaires, elle était directrice générale de la planification stratégique. À ce titre, elle s’occupait de la politique stratégique, des relations internationales et gouvernementales, des relations avec les Autochtones et de la consultation, de la recherche en réglementation, de l’évaluation ainsi que de la planification et du rendement.

Avant d’arriver à la CCSN, Liane était directrice générale, Gouvernance et responsabilisation de l’Agence, ainsi qu’agente principale de la gestion des risques à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada. Avant d’obtenir ce poste, elle a passé de nombreuses années à l’Agence du revenu du Canada, les quatre dernières années ayant été consacrées à la création du premier programme de gestion du risque d’entreprise. Liane a commencé sa carrière dans la fonction publique à l’Agence canadienne de développement international, où elle gérait les programmes d’aide au développement de l’Asie du Sud-Est et de l’Europe centrale et orientale. Elle est présidente du comité technique sur la gestion du risque harmonisé du Conseil canadien des normes et du Groupe CSA, et représente le Canada aux réunions de l’Organisation internationale de normalisation depuis 2015.

Liane est titulaire d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de la London School of Economics et d’un baccalauréat ès arts en histoire de l’Université McGill.

Stéphane Cyr, Vice-président et chef des services financiers

Stéphane Cyr,
vice-président et dirigeant principal

Direction générale des services de gestion

Stéphane Cyr
Vice-président, Services de gestion et dirigeant principal des finances

Stéphane Cyr est vice-président des Services de gestion et dirigeant principal des finances de la CCSN depuis 2013. Il s’est joint à la CCSN en 2009 en tant que directeur général des finances et de l’administration. À ce titre, il a dirigé de multiples initiatives et projets d’envergure, dont la mise en place d’un cadre financier axé sur le recouvrement des coûts, la construction du laboratoire de la CCSN, l’adoption d’un cadre intégré pour la production de rapports de gestion et la création d’un programme de garanties financières. M. Cyr a aussi été responsable de la transformation numérique, de la refonte de la gestion financière et de la stratégie de renouvellement de l’effectif de la CCSN, et il a récemment supervisé le développement de l’initiative de l’avenir du travail de l’organisation.

M. Cyr est le champion de la CCSN en matière de santé mentale et d’inclusion depuis 2016.

De 2007 à 2009, il a perfectionné ses compétences auprès des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada en qualité de directeur général du programme de création des connaissances en recherche fondamentale et de directeur général des finances et de la planification organisationnelle.

De 2004 à 2007, M. Cyr a été directeur général des services de gestion financière et directeur de la transformation à Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada. Avant cette période, il a travaillé à l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments à titre de directeur de la comptabilité et des systèmes financiers où il était chargé de divers projets, notamment la mise en place d’un système financier et de production de rapports et l’amélioration des pratiques comptables et de gestion.

Il a commencé sa carrière à l’Agence canadienne de développement international, où il a occupé plusieurs postes en comptabilité et en politique financière.

M. Cyr est diplômé du Programme de développement en leadership pour les cadres supérieurs (2018) et du Programme de perfectionnement accéléré des cadres supérieurs de la fonction publique (2010); il est également lauréat du prix Excellence CPA 2016, catégorie Innovation.

Il est membre des Comptables professionnels agréés du Canada et de l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec.
Lisa Thiele, Avocate générale principale

Lisa Thiele,
avocate-générale principale

Services juridiques

Lisa Thiele
Avocate générale principale

Mme Thiele est devenue avocate générale principale à la CCSN en 2014. À ce titre, elle apporte au Comité de direction de la CCSN son expertise juridique et stratégique, en plus de diriger l’équipe interne des services juridiques, qui fournit un soutien juridique à tous les secteurs d’activité de l’organisation. Elle est également avocate de la Commission, un tribunal quasi judiciaire, lors des réunions et des audiences publiques tenues régulièrement partout au Canada.

Elle possède une grande expérience et expertise en droit de la réglementation nucléaire, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’internationale. Membre en règle de l’Association internationale du droit nucléaire, elle siège au conseil d’administration de sa section canadienne, appelée Organisation canadienne du droit nucléaire. Elle fait partie du personnel enseignant de la Nuclear Law Institute de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique depuis sa création en 2011, et elle donne régulièrement des conférences à l’École internationale de droit nucléaire, un programme d’études supérieures offert à l’Université de Montpellier en France. Mme Thiele représente le Canada auprès du Comité du droit nucléaire de l’Agence pour l’énergie nucléaire, et a eu le privilège d’être conférencière et mentore pour le programme de leadership de l’Institut d’été de la World Nuclear University. L’excellence en droit nucléaire lui tient à cœur, et elle s’intéresse particulièrement à encourager les femmes à participer au développement de ce domaine.

Forte de son expérience et de son expertise en droit administratif, Mme Thiele appuie également le programme de formation des membres des tribunaux du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens, en offrant aux arbitres de la formation sur le déroulement d’audiences quasi judiciaires et sur le droit de la preuve dans les procédures administratives. À la suite d’un stage à la Cour fédérale du Canada, elle a été admise au Barreau de l’Ontario, et elle en demeure membre en règle. Elle est titulaire d’un diplôme de premier cycle et de droit de l’Université Queen’s à Kingston, en Ontario.

Marc Leblanc, Secrétaire de la Commission

Marc Leblanc,
secrétaire de la Commission

Secrétaire de la Commission

Marc Leblanc

Marc Leblanc est secrétaire de la Commission depuis octobre 2001 et membre du Comité de direction et du Comité de gestion de la CCSN. Il est aussi champion des langues officielles, du Système de gestion informelle des conflits et du Réseau des professionnels de l’administration de la CCSN. M. Leblanc siège actuellement au Conseil d’administration et au Comité de direction (trésorier) du Conseil des tribunaux administratifs canadiens. En plus de posséder plus de 35 ans d’expérience à la fonction publique en droit administratif et en droit des affaires, il a occupé des postes en politique législative et de haute direction à Industrie Canada, où son dernier poste était celui de directeur de la Direction des services de constitution et de diffusion d’information.

M. Leblanc est membre du Barreau du Québec depuis 1982 et possède une Licence en droit ainsi qu’un diplôme d’études supérieures de l’Université d’Ottawa pour lequel il a gagné le Prix de l’Ambassade de France. Il enseigne depuis plus de 20 ans à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa, se spécialisant dans les domaines du droit des sociétés et des valeurs mobilières, et travaille en droit des affaires à l’École du Barreau du Québec depuis plus de 20 ans.

Dernière mise à jour :