A risk-informed perspective on deterministic safety analysis of nuclear power plants

An abstract of the technical paper presented:
2009 International Congress on Advances in Nuclear Power Plants
(ICAPP 09 – paper 9448)
Tokyo, Japan
May 10–14, 2009

Prepared by:
Pak T. Wan
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

In this work, the deterministic safety analysis (DSA) approach to nuclear safety is examined from a risk-informed perspective. One objective of safety analysis of a nuclear power plant is to demonstrate via analysis that the risks to the public from events or accidents that are within the design basis of the power plant are within acceptable levels with a high degree of assurance. This nuclear safety analysis objective can be translated into two requirements on the risk estimates of design basis events or accidents:

  • the nominal risk estimate to the public must be shown to be within acceptable levels
  • the uncertainty in the risk estimates must be shown to be small on an absolute or relative basis

The DSA approach combined with the defense-in-depth (DID) principle is a simplified safety analysis approach that attempts to achieve the above safety analysis objective in the face of potentially large uncertainties in the risk estimates of a nuclear power plant by,

  • treating the various uncertainty contributors using a stylized conservative binary (yes-no) approach
  • applying multiple overlapping physical barriers and defense levels to protect against the release of radioactivity from the reactor

It is shown that by focusing on the consequence aspect of risk, the previous two nuclear safety analysis requirements on risk can be satisfied with the DSA-DID approach to nuclear safety.

It is also shown the use of multiple overlapping physical barriers and defense levels in the traditional DSA-DID approach to nuclear safety is risk-informed in the sense that it provides a consistently high level of confidence in the validity of the safety analysis results for various design basis events or accidents with a wide range of frequency of occurrence. It is hoped that by providing a linkage between the consequence analysis approach in DSA with a risk-informed perspective, greater understanding of the limitation and capability of the DSA approach is obtained.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Analyse déterministe de sûreté des centrales nucléaires selon une perspective tenant compte du risque

Résumé du document technique présenté au :
20e Congrès international sur le progrès dans les centrales nucléaires
(ICAPP 09 – document 9448)
Tokyo, Japon
Du 10 au 14 mai 2009

Rédigé par :
Pak T. Wan
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Dans ce document, nous examinons l'approche de l'analyse déterministe de sûreté (ADS) appliquée à la sûreté nucléaire, selon une perspective tenant compte du risque. L'un des objectifs de l'analyse de sûreté d'une centrale nucléaire vise à démontrer, avec un niveau d'assurance élevé, que les risques pour la population liés aux événements ou aux accidents qui surviennent à l'intérieur du dimensionnement de la centrale sont inférieurs aux limites acceptables. Cet objectif lié à l'évaluation des risques des événements ou des accidents de dimensionnement peut se traduire en deux exigences, soit :

  • démontrer que l'estimation du risque nominal pour la population est à un niveau acceptable
  • démontrer que l'incertitude liée à l'estimation des risques est minime en termes absolus ou relatifs

L'ADS combinée au principe de défense en profondeur (DEP) est une approche simplifiée qui tente d'atteindre l'objectif d'analyse de sûreté mentionné ci-haut en tenant compte d'importantes incertitudes potentielles dans l'évaluation des risques d'une centrale nucléaire :

  • en examinant les divers facteurs contribuant à l'incertitude selon une méthode prudente et simplifiée de questions binaires (oui-non)
  • en appliquant un ensemble imbriqué de barrières matérielles multiples et de niveaux de défense pour assurer une protection contre les émissions de radioactivité provenant du réacteur

Il est démontré qu'en se concentrant sur les conséquences des risques, il est possible de respecter les deux exigences mentionnées précédemment quant à leur évaluation en utilisant l'approche ADS-DEP.

Il est aussi démontré que l'utilisation d'un ensemble imbriqué de barrières matérielles multiples et de niveaux de défense selon l'approche ADS-DEP classique tient compte du risque étant donné qu'elle offre un niveau de confiance élevé dans la validité des résultats de l'analyse de sûreté pour différents événements ou accidents de dimensionnement, selon une vaste gamme de fréquences ou d'occurrences. Il est à souhaiter que le fait d'établir un lien entre l'approche d'analyse des conséquences de l'ADS et une perspective tenant compte du risque apportera une meilleure compréhension des limites et des capacités de l'ADS.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :