CNSC approach to the design review of nuclear fuel systems for new nuclear power plants

An abstract of the technical paper:
IAEA Technical Meeting on Pressurized Heavy Water Reactor Fuel Design
Fabrication & Performance
Buenos Aires, Argentina
November 9–12, 2009

Prepared by:
Ho-Chun Suk and Michel Couture
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

In Canada, over the past two years there has been renewed interest in the nuclear energy option and, in particular, in Ontario where the province has been conducting a bidding process to choose a vendor. The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is undertaking a number of preparatory activities to ensure that it is ready to licence whichever technology is submitted by an applicant.

These preparatory activities have included the development of regulatory document RD-337 whose purpose is to set out the expectations of the CNSC with respect to the design of new water-cooled nuclear power plants (NPPs). RD-337 represents the CNSC's adoption of the principles set forth by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in NS-R-1, Safety of Nuclear Power Plants: Design, and the adaptation of those principles to align with Canadian expectations. RD-337 was approved by the Commission and issued in November 2008.

Other documents which are either completed or under development include the document Construction Licence Applications for Nuclear Power Plants: Guidelines (hereafter called CLAGs), and Staff Review Guides (SRGs). CLAGs is a document that describes the scope of the CNSC staff review and the information that is required to be submitted in an application for a licence to construct a nuclear power plant. SRGs are being written for all phases of the licensing process, including the environmental assessment, the licence to prepare site, and the licence to construct (SRGs for a licence to operate will be prepared in the future). The SRGs outline the principal technical criteria that will guide staff in determining the adequacy of the submissions. For the licence to construct, there are SRGs that address all aspects of the nuclear power plant design.

The focus of this paper is on the CNSC approach to the design review of nuclear fuel systems for new nuclear power plants, and will be limited to the thermal, mechanical and material design of the fuel system. Although to the extent practicable, the documents RD-337, CLAGs and the SRG for fuel system designs is technology-neutral with respect to water-cooled reactors, this paper is focused on the review of the design of CANDU fuel bundles. Clauses of RD-337 which are relevant to CANDU fuel designs will be listed. Also discussed in this paper are the objectives of the review, the review criteria and the information and data expected in the licensee's application.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Approche utilisée par la CCSN pour l’examen de la conception des systèmes de combustible des nouvelles centrales nucléaires

Résumé du document technique présenté à la :
6e Conférence internationale de la Société Nucléaire Canadienne (SNC) sur les générateurs de vapeur
Toronto (Ontario), Canada
Du 8 au 11 novembre 2009

Rédigé par :
Nicholas Christodoulou, Blair Carroll, Jovica Riznic et Sue Liu et Raoul Awad
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Au cours des deux dernières années, on a observé un intérêt renouvelé au Canada pour l’option de l’énergie nucléaire, plus particulièrement en Ontario, qui a lancé un processus d’appel d’offres en vue de choisir un fournisseur. La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a entrepris plusieurs activités préparatoires pour s’assurer qu’elle sera prête à autoriser la technologie qui sera soumise par un demandeur.

Ces activités préparatoires comprenaient l’élaboration du document d’application de la réglementation RD-337 visant à énoncer les attentes de la CCSN à l’égard de la conception des nouveaux réacteurs nucléaires refroidis à l’eau. Le document RD-337 signifie l’adoption, par la CCSN, des principes établis par l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) dans sa norme de sûreté NS-R-1, Sûreté des centrales nucléaires : Conception, et l’adaptation de ces principes afin de les faire concorder avec les attentes canadiennes. Le document RD-337 a été approuvé par la Commission et publié en novembre 2008.

D’autres documents sont terminés ou en cours d’élaboration, notamment le document intitulé Demandes de permis de construction de centrales nucléaires : lignes directrices (ci-après le DPCCNLD) et les processus d’examen pour le personnel (PEP). Le DPCCNLD est un document qui décrit la portée de l’examen qu’effectuera le personnel de la CCSN et l’information à soumettre dans une demande de permis de construction d’une centrale nucléaire. Les PEP sont rédigés pour toutes les phases du processus d’autorisation, y compris l’évaluation environnementale, le permis de préparation de l’emplacement et le permis de construction (on préparera plus tard les PEP pour le permis d’exploitation). Les PEP décrivent les principaux critères techniques qui aideront le personnel à déterminer le caractère adéquat des documents soumis. En ce qui concerne le permis de construction, ils portent sur tous les aspects de la conception d’une centrale nucléaire.

Le présent document décrit l’approche utilisée par la CCSN pour l’examen de la conception des systèmes de combustible nucléaire des nouvelles centrales nucléaires. Il se limite à la conception thermique, mécanique et matérielle du système de combustible. Bien que, dans la mesure du possible, le document RD-337, le DPCCNLD et le PEP relatifs aux conceptions du système de combustible soient neutres sur le plan technologique à l’égard des réacteurs refroidis à l’eau, le présent document porte sur l’examen de la conception des grappes de combustible CANDU. Les dispositions du document RD-337 qui s’appliquent aux conceptions de combustible CANDU seront énumérées. On discute également dans ce document des objectifs de l’examen, des critères d’examen ainsi que de l’information et des données à soumettre dans la demande du titulaire de permis.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :