Blending deterministic and probabilistic arguments in the regulatory decision making: The Canadian approach

Abstract of the technical presented to:
Probabilistic Safety Assessment and Management Conference 2010 (PSAM)
Seattle, Washington, United States
June 7-11, 2010

Prepared by:
Philippe Hessel
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

A safety assessment is a systematic process to verify that applicable safety requirements are met in all phases of the life cycle of a nuclear facility. Safety analysis is a key component of a safety assessment. Safety analysis incorporates both probabilistic and deterministic approaches, which complement each other.

Deterministic safety analysis is the principal means of demonstrating that the dose acceptance criteria are met with a high degree of confidence for all accidents within the design basis.

Probabilistic safety analysis is the principal means of demonstrating that the safety goals are met for potential accidents both within and beyond the design basis. It identifies vulnerabilities not necessarily accessible through deterministic safety analysis alone.

With the development of probabilistic analysis techniques, nuclear facilities licensees and applicants have introduced probabilistic arguments in support of applications for a licence to operate as well as submissions aimed at obtaining approval for facility modifications, for closure of action items or for temporary licence exemptions.

Probabilistic analysis can complement the deterministic analysis in any of the following areas:

  1. supporting applications for licensing new or existing nuclear facilities
  2. supporting submissions for modifications of the facility configuration, maintenance or operating procedures
  3. framing the decisions to be made following reportable events as required by the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) regulatory standard S-99 Reporting Requirements for Operating Nuclear Power Plants
  4. supporting submissions proposing revisions to deterministic criteria

The integration of probabilistic and deterministic safety analyses and the degree of use of probabilistic criteria is considered on a case-by-case basis.

The depth and scope of the review of a submission is in proportion to its impact on safety. When a submission is supported by both deterministic and probabilistic arguments, the review is conducted as a multidisciplinary project.

The goal of the review is to check that the following general principles are met:

  1. the status of the facility after implementation of the decision meets the relevant regulations and the current licence requirements
  2. defence-in-depth is maintained
  3. sufficient safety margins are maintained

The approach used for evaluating the safety impact of the submission is to ensure that all aspects of the submission have been addressed. Specialists of both deterministic and probabilistic safety analysis, facility operation, systems, maintenance, management, training, radiation protection, human factors, organizational factors and software reliability are consulted as appropriate.

The review of the submission takes into account probabilistic and deterministic considerations, current regulatory requirements and licence conditions. Information and insights from the probabilistic and deterministic analyses are considered, together with quantitative sensitivity studies, operational experience, historical facility performance and engineering judgment.

The scope and quality of the analyses conducted to justify the submission are assessed for the appropriateness for the nature and scope of the proposal(s) contained therein and whether it is based on the as-built and as-operated facility. The assumptions and elements of the models used are assessed for whether they are correct and adequate for resolving the issue. Furthermore, it must be clear that there is a commitment to perform the diverse activities (monitoring, surveillance, operating and maintenance procedures, etc.) that are credited in the submission.

The probabilistic arguments supporting the licensee's submissions include an evaluation of the absolute or relative change in risk metrics. The complexity and depth of this evaluation depends on the magnitude of the potential risk impact.

The results from the PSA, after modelling the proposal(s), are evaluated against the safety goals. The margin between the presented results (for example in terms of core damage or releases) and the safety goal limits is used to weigh the probabilistic and deterministic arguments.

It is important to realize that there is a difference in weighing the probabilistic and deterministic arguments which leads to either risk-based or risk-informed regulatory concepts. The first relies on the PSA in a stringent and rigid fashion whereas the latter uses a combination of the PSA, deterministic requirements, prudence and operating experience to assess relative importance of various safety issues and to confirm the adequacy of the design. As a result, the risk-informed approach gives a more holistic view of risk scenarios as opposed to more specific probabilities of initiating events.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Combiner les arguments déterministes et probabilistes dans la prise de décisions réglementaires : l'approche canadienne

Résumé du document technique présenté à la :
Conférence 2010 sur la gestion et l'étude probabiliste de la sûreté (PSAM)
Seattle (Washington), États-Unis
Du 7 au 11 juin 2010

Rédigé par :
Philippe Hessel
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Une évaluation de la sûreté est un processus systématique visant à vérifier si les exigences de sûreté applicables sont respectées dans toutes les phases du cycle de vie d'une installation nucléaire. L'analyse de sûreté est l'élément clé d'une évaluation de la sûreté et elle incorpore les approches probabiliste et déterministe, qui se complètent l'une l'autre.

L'analyse de sûreté déterministe est la principale façon de démontrer que les critères d'acceptation des doses sont respectés avec un degré élevé de confiance pour tous les accidents de dimensionnement.

L'analyse probabiliste de la sûreté sert à démontrer que les objectifs de sûreté sont atteints en cas d'accidents potentiels à l'intérieur du dimensionnement et hors dimensionnement. Elle sert à cerner les vulnérabilités qui ne sont pas nécessairement déterminables uniquement à partir de l'analyse de sûreté déterministe.
Avec le progrès des techniques d'analyse probabiliste, les titulaires et les demandeurs de permis d'installation nucléaire ont introduit des arguments probabilistes à l'appui de leurs demandes de permis d'exploitation ainsi que pour celles visant à obtenir l'approbation de modifications à une installation, la fermeture de dossiers génériques ou des exemptions de permis temporaires.

L'analyse probabiliste peut servir de complément à l'analyse déterministe dans les domaines suivants pour :

  1. étayer les demandes de permis pour des installations nucléaires nouvelles ou existantes
  2. étayer les demandes de modifications à la configuration, à l'entretien ou aux procédures d'exploitation d'une installation
  3. encadrer les décisions à prendre à la suite d'événements à signaler, tel que l'exige la norme de réglementation S-99, Rapports à soumettre par les exploitants de centrales nucléaires, de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN);
  4. étayer les documents proposant des révisions aux critères déterministes

L'intégration des analyses de sûreté probabiliste et déterministe ainsi que le degré d'utilisation des critères probabilistes sont évalués au cas par cas.

La profondeur et la portée de l'examen d'une demande sont proportionnelles à ses répercussions sur la sûreté. Lorsqu'une demande est étayée par des arguments déterministes et probabilistes, l'examen se fait sous forme de projet multidisciplinaire.

L'examen a pour objectif de vérifier si les principes généraux ci-dessous sont respectés :

  1. la condition de l'installation, après la mise en application de la décision, répond aux règlements applicables et aux exigences de permis actuelles
  2. la défense en profondeur est maintenue
  3. des marges de sûreté suffisantes sont maintenues

L'approche utilisée pour évaluer l'impact sur la sûreté de la demande consiste à s'assurer que tous les aspects de la demande ont été abordés. Selon le cas, on consulte des spécialistes des analyses de sûreté probabiliste et déterministe, de l'exploitation des installations, des systèmes, de l'entretien, de la gestion, de la formation, de la radioprotection, des facteurs humains, des facteurs organisationnels et de la fiabilité du logiciel.

L'examen d'une demande tient compte des aspects probabilistes et déterministes, des exigences réglementaires en vigueur et des conditions de permis. L'information et les connaissances découlant des analyses probabiliste et déterministe sont examinées, avec les études de sensibilité quantitatives, le retour d'expérience, le rendement passé de l'installation et le jugement technique.

La portée et la qualité des analyses effectuées pour justifier la demande sont évaluées en vue de déterminer le caractère adéquat des propositions contenues dans la demande et de vérifier si elles reposent sur l'installation telle que construite ou telle qu'exploitée. Les hypothèses et les éléments des modèles utilisés sont évalués afin de déterminer s'ils sont corrects et adéquats pour résoudre le problème. De plus, il doit y avoir un engagement clair d'exécution des diverses activités (surveillance, contrôle, procédures d'exploitation et d'entretien, etc.) qui sont énumérées dans la demande.

Les arguments probabilistes dans les documents soumis par un titulaire de permis comprennent l'évaluation du changement absolu et relatif des paramètres de risque. La complexité de cette évaluation dépend de l'ampleur des risques potentiels.

Les résultats de l'EPS, après la modélisation des propositions, sont évalués en fonction des objectifs de sûreté. L'écart entre les résultats présentés (p. ex. en termes de dommages au cœur ou de rejets) et les limites des objectifs de sûreté sert à mesurer les arguments probabilistes et déterministes.

Il est important de reconnaître qu'il existe une différence dans l'analyse des arguments probabilistes et déterministes qui aboutissent à des concepts de réglementation axés sur le risque ou tenant compte du risque. Le premier concept repose sur l'EPS de façon rigoureuse et rigide tandis que le second utilise un mélange d'EPS, d'exigences déterministes, de prudence et de retour d'expérience pour évaluer l'importance relative des diverses questions de sûreté et pour confirmer le caractère adéquat de la conception. En conséquence, l'approche tenant compte du risque présente une vision holistique des scénarios de risque par opposition à des probabilités plus précises des événements déclencheurs.

Pour obtenir une copie du document, veuillez communiquer avec nous par courriel à cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-995-5894 ou 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez nous fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :