Safety margins in deterministic safety analysis

Abstract of the technical paper presented at:
The 32nd Annual CNS Conference
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
June 5-8, 2011

Prepared by:
A. Viktorov
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Abstract

The concept of safety margins has acquired certain prominence in the attempts to demonstrate quantitatively the level of the nuclear power plant safety by means of deterministic analysis, especially when considering impacts from plant ageing and discovery issues. A number of international or industry publications exist that discuss various applications and interpretations of safety margins. The objective of this presentation is to bring together and examine in some detail, from the regulatory point of view, the safety margins that relate to deterministic safety analysis.

In this paper, definitions of various safety margins are presented and discussed along with the regulatory expectations for them. Interrelationships of analysis input and output parameters with corresponding limits are explored. It is shown that the overall safety margin is composed of several components each having different origins and potential uses; in particular, margins associated with analysis output parameters are contrasted with margins linked to the analysis input. While these are separate, it is possible to influence output margins through the analysis input, and analysis method.

Preserving safety margins is tantamount to maintaining safety. At the same time, efficiency of operation requires optimization of safety margins taking into account various technical and regulatory considerations. For this, basic definitions and rules for safety margins must be first established.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Marges de sûreté dans l'analyse déterministe de sûreté

Résumé du document technique présenté à la :
32e Conférence annuelle de la SNC
Niagara Falls (Ontario), Canada
Du 5 au 8 juin 2011

Rédigé par :
A. Viktorov
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Le concept de marges de sûreté a acquis une certaine proéminence dans les tentatives pour démontrer de manière quantitative le niveau de sûreté d'une centrale nucléaire au moyen de l'analyse déterministe, surtout lorsque l'on considère les incidences du vieillissement de la centrale et les problèmes d'exploration. Il existe un certain nombre de publications de l'industrie et d'organisations internationales qui discutent des diverses applications et interprétations des marges de sûreté. La présentation a pour but de rassembler et d'examiner en détail, du point de vue de la réglementation, les marges de sûreté en lien avec l'analyse déterministe de sûreté.

Dans ce document, on présente les définitions des diverses marges de sûreté et on discute de ces marges ainsi que des attentes en matière de réglementation qui s'y rattachent. On explore les interrelations entre les paramètres d'entrée et de sortie de l'analyse et les limites correspondantes. Il y est démontré que la marge de sûreté générale se compose de plusieurs composants ayant chacun des origines et des utilisations potentielles différentes. Plus particulièrement, les marges associées aux paramètres de sortie de l'analyse sont opposées aux marges liées aux paramètres d'entrée. Bien que ces éléments soient distincts, il est possible d'influencer les marges établies au moyen des données d'entrée de l'analyse et de la méthode d'analyse.

Il est primordial de préserver les marges de sûreté pour maintenir la sûreté. En même temps, l'efficacité des opérations exigent une optimisation des marges de sûreté, en tenant compte des diverses considérations techniques et réglementaires. Dans cette optique, il est essentiel d'établir d'abord les définitions et les règles de base pour les marges de sûreté.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :