Tests on Concrete Slabs Under Hard Missile Impact to Evaluate the Influence of Transverse Reinforcement and Pre-Stressing on Perforation Capacity

Abstract of the technical paper presented at:
21st International Conference on Structural Mechanics in Reactor Technology (SMiRT-21)
New Delhi, India
November 6 - 11, 2011 

Prepared by:
Nebojsa Orbovic, Andrei Blahoianu
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada  

Abstract

Empirical formulae are used to determine or to check the required thickness of concrete elements to prevent perforation. These empirical formulae for perforation of reinforced concrete elements (slabs) are established for the elements with longitudinal reinforcement only. The influence of transverse reinforcement and pre-stressing is not taken into account.

A series of tests has been carried out on concrete slabs impacted by a hard missile in the velocity range of 100m/s-150m/s at VTT facility in Espoo, Finland. The concrete slabs are with dimensions 2.1m*2.1m*0.25m with transverse reinforcement in form of T-headed bars and with pre-stressing, separated and combined. The most representative results are presented in this paper.

The goal of the tests is to evaluate the behaviour and possible benefits of T-headed bars and pre-stressing on perforation capacity of concrete elements (slabs) under hard missile impact loading. The results are compared to the tests carried out on the similar slabs using longitudinal reinforcement only as well as to the elements with the same reinforcement but with different impact velocity. The behaviour of the concrete slabs, their failure mode and the damage as well as the repeatability of the tests are evaluated as a function of missile velocity.

The conclusion is that the transverse reinforcement combined with T-headed bars can improve significantly the perforation capacity of concrete slabs under hard missile impact.

The ultimate goal is to come up with modified formula which will take into account transverse reinforcement and pre-stressing for the estimation of perforation capacity of concrete elements (slabs). The tests carried out in this campaign are one step towards this goal.

To obtain a copy of the abstract's document, contact the CNSC. When contacting the CNSC, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Essais portant sur des dalles de béton soumises à l’impact de projectiles pour évaluer l’influence du renforcement transversal et des précontraintes sur la capacité de perforation

Le résumé du document technique a été présenté lors de la :
21e Conférence internationale sur la mécanique des structures dans la technologie des réacteurs (SMiRT-21)
New Delhi (Inde)
Du 6 au 11 novembre 2011 

Préparé par :
Nebojsa Orbovic etAndrei Blahoianu,
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
Ottawa (Ontario), Canada

Résumé

Des formules empiriques sont utilisées pour déterminer ou vérifier l’épaisseur requise des éléments en béton permettant d’éviter la perforation. Ces formules relatives à la perforation des éléments en béton armé (dalles) sont établies pour des éléments à renforcement longitudinal seulement. L’effet du renforcement transversal et des précontraintes n’est pas pris en compte.

Une série d’essais ont été réalisés pour des dalles de béton frappées par un projectile dur ayant une vitesse de l’ordre de 100 m/s à 150 m/s à l’installation VTT située à Espoo, en Finlande. Les dimensions des dalles en béton sont de 2,1 m x 2,1 m x 0,25 m avec renforcement transversal sous la forme de barres en T et de précontraintes, pris séparément et combinés. Les résultats les plus représentatifs figurent dans le présent document.

Le but de ces essais est d’évaluer le comportement et les avantages possible des barres en T et des précontraintes sur la capacité de perforation des éléments en béton (dalles) sous l’effet d’une charge d’impact associée à un projectile dur. Les résultats sont comparés aux essais réalisés sur des dalles semblables avec renforcement longitudinal seulement, ainsi qu’avec des éléments ayant le même renforcement mais pour des projectiles dont la vitesse lors de l’impact est différente. Le comportement des dalles en béton, leur mode de défaillance et les dommages causés, ainsi que la répétabilité des essais sont évalués en fonction de la vitesse du projectile.

La conclusion est que le renforcement transversal combiné à des barres en T améliore considérablement la capacité de perforation des dalles en béton sous l’impact d’un projectile dur.

L’objectif ultime est de trouver une formule modifiée qui tiendra compte du renforcement transversal et des précontraintes pour l'estimation de la capacité de perforation des éléments en béton (dalles). Les essais réalisés dans le cadre de ces recherches constituent l'une des étapes vers cet objectif.

Pour obtenir une copie du document relatif au résumé, communiquez avec la CCSN. Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :