Determination of hydrazine at Ontario nuclear power plants

Published in: [Analytical Methods Journal – October, 2015]

Authors:
[Slobodan V. Jovanovic, Thomas Zakharov, Hemendra Mulye, Duck Kim, and Kelly-Anne Fagan]
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC)

Abstract

The CNSC has developed and validated a sensitive and accurate method for the environmental monitoring of hydrazine releases in fresh water, which can be used for regulatory compliance and monitoring purposes. Hydrazine is a colourless and flammable hazardous liquid, which is used as a corrosion inhibitor in nuclear power plants, and which is often difficult to accurately measure. 

The article titled Determination of Hydrazine at Ontario Nuclear Power Plants was published in the Analytical Methods Journal. It describes the method for the determination of hydrazine in lake and river water, using ion chromatography with an amperometric detector (a tool for detecting the ions in a solution based on electric current or changes in electric current) with very low limits of detection and quantification. To validate the method, water samples were taken from Lake Huron, near the Bruce Nuclear Generating Station in August 2014, and from Lake Ontario near the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station and the Darlington Nuclear Generating Station in October 2014. The concentrations of hydrazine in the lake water samples measured were from 0.02 to 0.03 micrograms per litre, well below the Canadian Federal Environmental Quality Guideline of 2.6 micrograms per litre.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613.995.5894 or 1.800.668.5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Determination of hydrazine at Ontario nuclear power plants (en anglais seulement)

Résumé de l’article publié dans le [Analytical Methods Journal –  octobre 2015]

Auteurs :
[Slobodan V. Jovanovic, Thomas Zakharov, Hemendra Mulye, Duck Kim, and Kelly-Anne Fagan]
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN)

Résumé

La CCSN a élaboré et validé une méthode sensible et précise pour la surveillance environnementale des rejets d'hydrazine dans l'eau douce. Cette méthode peut être utilisée à des fins de conformité réglementaire et de surveillance. L'hydrazine, un liquide dangereux incolore et inflammable qui sert à prévenir la corrosion aux centrales nucléaires, est souvent difficile à mesurer avec précision.

Un article à ce sujet, intitulé Determination of Hydrazine at Ontario Nuclear Power Plants (en anglais seulement), a été publié dans le Analytical Methods Journal. Il décrit la méthode employée pour mesurer l'hydrazine dans l'eau de lacs et de rivières, soit la chromatographie d'échange d'ions avec un détecteur ampérométrique (un outil de détection d'ions dans une solution en fonction du courant électrique ou des changements dans ce courant), dont les limites de détection et la quantification sont très peu élevées. Pour valider la méthode, des échantillons d'eau ont été recueillis dans le lac Huron, près de la centrale nucléaire de Bruce (août 2014) et dans le lac Ontario, près des centrales nucléaires de Pickering et de Darlington (octobre 2014). Les concentrations d'hydrazine dans les échantillons d'eau de lac variaient entre 0,02 et 0,03 microgrammes par litre, bien en-deçà des limites établies dans les Recommandations fédérales pour la qualité de l'environnement de 2,6 microgrammes par litre.

La CCSN mesure le TLCO dans le cadre de ses activités de surveillance de l’environnement afin de vérifier que les personnes et l’environnement à proximité d’installations nucléaires sont protégés.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613.995.5894 ou le 1.800.668.5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :