An Effective Approach to Assessing the Capability for Nuclear Safety at the CNSC

Abstract of the technical paper/presentation presented at:
IAEA International Conference on Challenges Faced by Technical and Scientific Support Organizations in Enhancing Nuclear Safety and Security: Ensuring Effective and Sustainable Expertise
October 15–18, 2018

Prepared by:
Sophie Yao and Melanie Rickard
Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission

Abstract:

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has undertaken several initiatives to maintain core capabilities and organizational competencies that are essential to carrying out our important mandate over the long term. One such initiative is to rigorously evaluate our access to required scientific and technical expertise and infrastructure, both internally and externally. A self-assessment method of comprehensively collecting required capability information from CNSC operational staff will be described and the catalogue that was created from the capability information will be explained. Further, the approach used to evaluate the CNSC’s existing and future technical needs, based on a changing environment, will be discussed. Some potential capability needs and remedial steps will be presented.

Complementary to this work, the CNSC is investing effort to identify critical regulatory and technical competencies and articulate development and succession plans as a part of its strategic workforce planning activities. The implementation of our knowledge management strategy will ensure that both tacit and explicit knowledge, particularly at-risk knowledge, is safeguarded, accessible and shared. The differences and similarities between these initiatives were discussed as continuous improvements for the organization to maintain a healthy regulatory safety oversight culture.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Une approche efficace pour évaluer la capacité de sûreté nucléaire à la CCSN

Résumé de la présentation technique prévue à la :
Conférence internationale de l’AIEA sur les défis des organisations de soutien technique et scientifique dans l’amélioration de la sûreté et de la sécurité nucléaires : assurer une expertise efficace et durable
Du 15 au 18 octobre 2018

Préparé par :
Sophie Yao et Melanie Rickard
Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire

Résumé

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) a entrepris plusieurs initiatives visant à maintenir ses capacités de base et les compétences organisationnelles qui lui sont essentielles pour exécuter son important mandat à long terme. Une de ces initiatives consiste à évaluer rigoureusement notre accès à l’expertise et l’infrastructure scientifique et technique requise, autant à l’interne qu’à l’externe. Une méthode d’autoévaluation visant à recueillir de manière exhaustive l’information requise sur les capacités auprès du personnel des opérations de la CCSN sera décrite et le catalogue qui a été créé au moyen de cette information sera expliqué. De plus, on discutera également de l’approche utilisée pour évaluer les besoins techniques actuels et futurs de la CCSN, en fonction d’un environnement en évolution. On présentera certains besoins potentiels en matière de capacité ainsi que des mesures pour répondre à ces besoins.

En plus de ces travaux, la CCSN investit des efforts pour identifier les compétences techniques et réglementaires essentielles et articuler des plans de perfectionnement et de relève dans le cadre de ses activités de planification stratégique de l’effectif. La mise en œuvre de la stratégie de gestion du savoir de la CCSN veillera à ce que les connaissances tacites et explicites, et plus particulièrement les connaissances à risque, soient protégées, accessibles et partagées. Les différences et les similitudes entre ces initiatives ont été également discutées, tout comme les efforts d’amélioration continue, afin que l’organisation maintienne une saine culture de surveillance réglementaire de la sûreté.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613-995-5894 ou le 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :