Recent Insights from the International Common-Cause Failure Data Exchange (ICDE) Project

Abstract of the technical paper/presentation presented at:
Proceedings of the 30th European Safety and Reliability Conference and the 15th Probabilistic Safety Assessment and Management Conference
June 21–26, 2020

Prepared by: Hayat Chatri1, Yolande Akl1, Gunnar Johanson2, Jeffery Wood3 and Benjamin Brück4
1Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, Canada
2ÅF Industry, Sweden
3United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission, United States of America
4Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH, Germany

Abstract

Common-cause failure (CCF) events can significantly impact the availability of safety systems of nuclear power plants. For this reason, in 1994, a number of countries initiated the International Common-Cause Failure Data Exchange (ICDE) project. Since 1997, the Organisation for Economic Co operation and Development’s Nuclear Energy Agency (OECD NEA) has successfully operated the project over seven consecutive terms (the current term being 2019–2022). The ICDE project allows multiple countries to collaborate and exchange CCF data to enhance the quality of risk analyses, which include CCF modelling. Because CCF events are typically rare, most countries do not experience enough of them to perform meaningful analyses. Input combined from several countries, however, has yielded sufficient data for more rigorous analyses.

The ICDE project has published 11 reports on the collection and analysis of CCF events of specific component types (centrifugal pumps, emergency diesel generators, motor-operated valves, safety and relief valves, check valves, circuit breakers, level measurement, control-rod drive assemblies, heat exchangers), as well as five topical reports, with another three reports in the preparation stage.

The ICDE project has greatly changed the view of CCFs. Many insights, such as the determination that complete CCFs seem to be most often the result of human action as a part of operation or design rather than manufacturing deficiencies, would not have been possible without deep plant data collection and combining information from many sources.

This paper presents recent activities and lessons learned from the data collection and the results of topical analyses on intersystem dependencies and pre-initiator human failure events.

References

  1. ICDE Project Report: Summary of Phase VII of the International Common-Cause Data Exchange Project, NEA/CSNI/R (2019)3, June 2019.
  2. ICDE Topical Report: Collection and Analysis of Common-Cause Failures due to Plant Modifications, NEA/CSNI/R (2019)4, 2019.
  3. ICDE Topical Report: Provision against Common-Cause Failures by Improving Testing, NEA/CSNI/R (2019)5, 2019.
  4. ICDE Topical Report: Collection and Analysis of Multi-Unit Common-Cause Failure Events, NEA/CSNI/R (2019)6, 2019.
  5. Draft ICDE Topical Report: Collection and Analysis of Intersystem Common-Cause Failure Events.
  6. Draft ICDE Topical Report: Collection and Analysis of Common-Cause Pre Initiator Human Failure Events.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Constatations récentes tirées du Projet de base de données internationale sur les défaillances de cause commune (ICDE)

Résumé de la présentation/du document technique présenté lors des :
Délibérations de la 30e Conférence européenne sur la sûreté et la fiabilité et de la 15e Conférence sur la gestion et l’étude probabiliste de sûreté
Du 21 au 26 juin 2020

Préparé par : Hayat Chatri1, Yolande Akl1, Gunnar Johanson2, Jeffery Wood3 et Benjamin Brück4
1Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire, Canada
2ÅF Industry, Suède
3Nuclear Regulatory Commission des États-Unis
4Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH, Allemagne

Résumé

Les événements de défaillances de cause commune (DCC) peuvent avoir une incidence considérable sur la disponibilité des systèmes de sûreté des centrales nucléaires. Pour cette raison, plusieurs pays ont mis en œuvre le projet de base de données internationale sur les défaillances de cause commune (ICDE). Depuis 1997, l’Agence pour l’énergie nucléaire de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (AEN-OCDE) a mené ce projet de manière concluante pendant sept mandats (le mandat actuel couvrant la période de 2019 à 2022). Le projet d’ICDE permet à plusieurs pays de collaborer et de mettre en commun leurs données sur les DCC afin d’accroître la qualité des analyses du risque, ce qui comprend la modélisation des DCC. Étant donné que les événements de DCC sont généralement rares, la plupart des pays n’en font pas suffisamment l’expérience pour en tirer des analyses utiles. Toutefois, en combinant les données de différents pays, on obtient suffisamment de renseignements pour procéder à des analyses rigoureuses.

Dans le cadre du projet d’ICDE, on a publié onze rapports sur la collecte et l’analyse de données relatives aux événements de DCC visant des types de composants spécifiques (pompes centrifuges, génératrices de secours alimentées au diesel, vannes motorisées, soupape de sûreté et vannes de décharge, vannes de retenue, disjoncteurs, mesures des niveaux, assemblages d’entraînement des barres de commande, échangeurs de chaleur) ainsi que cinq rapports sur des thèmes particuliers; trois autres rapports en sont à l’état de préparation.

Le projet d’ICDE a permis de changer considérablement la manière d’aborder les DCC. De nombreuses constatations, notamment le fait que les DCC complètes semblent généralement être causées par des actions humaines dans le cadre de l’exploitation ou de la conception plutôt que par des lacunes sur le plan de la fabrication, auraient été impossibles sans la collecte exhaustive et la mise en commun de données provenant de multiples sources.

Dans ce document, nous présentons des activités récentes et les leçons apprises de la collecte de données ainsi que les résultats des analyses thématiques sur les interdépendances des systèmes et les événements entraînés par une erreur humaine.

Références

  1. Rapport du projet d’ICDE, Summary of Phase VII of the International Common Cause Data Exchange Project, AEN/CSIN/R (2019)3, juin 2019.
  2. Rapport thématique du projet d’ICDE, Collection and Analysis of Common-Cause Failures due to Plant Modifications, AEN/CSIN/R (2019)4, 2019.
  3. Rapport thématique du projet d’ICDE, Provision against Common-Cause Failures by Improving Testing, AEN/CSIN/R (2019)5, 2019.
  4. Rapport thématique du projet d’ICDE, Collection and Analysis of Multi-Unit Common-Cause Failure Events, AEN/CSIN/R (2019)6, 2019.
  5. Ébauche de rapport thématique du projet d’ICDE, Collection and Analysis of Intersystem Common-Cause Failure Events.
  6. Ébauche de rapport thématique du projet d’ICDE, Collection and Analysis of Common-Cause Pre Initiator Human Failure Events.

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613-995-5894 ou le 1 800 668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé. Veuillez nous fournir le titre et la date du résumé.

Dernière mise à jour :