The Use of the International Atomic Energy Agency Reactor Assessment Product Tool at the CNSC Emergency Operations Centre

Abstract of the technical presentation presented at:
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Consultancy Meeting (WEBEX virtual meeting)
June 17, 2020

Prepared by:
Mohamed E. Shawkat
CNSC

Abstract

The IAEA developed a Reactor Assessment Tool (RAT) for use in case of a nuclear emergency. It is the main tool offered to the member states to assess (or diagnose) the status of Nuclear Power Plants (NPPs) and to perform prognosis to estimate whether there has been a release, release duration (if any), and severity of radiological consequences. The RAT has several modules that represent many nuclear reactor designs including the PHWR (or CANDU) reactor. IAEA held several consultancy meetings with the aim to improve the RAT and make it more usable by all member states by changing the different reactor modules to follow a systematic approach and improve the prognosis and the Spent Fuel Pool (SFP) portions. CNSC actively participated in all IAEA consultancy meetings either in-person or virtually to ensure that the CANDU module is well presented in the RAT. The RAT is used at the CNSC Emergency Operations Centre (EOC) to:

(1) provide IAEA Incident and Emergency Centre (IEC) with the essential information during the emergency event and as it progresses

(2) as the basis for the Reactor Assessment Product which, in turn, is used as a communication tool:

  • within different CNSC-EOC groups as well as with the Emergency Executive Team
  • with Federal organizations interfaced by CNSC
  • between US-NRC and CNSC

IAEA issued a new version of the RAT based on the recommendations of the consultancy meetings that have the following features:

  • follow a systematic approach for all reactor designs (3D/3P or 4D/4P approach)
  • diagnosis and prognosis are performed in two separate steps with the ability of comparing the results on the same screen (two tabs are used instead of one tab to represent the assessment stage and the prognosis stage)
  • provide quick and easy glance to see overall station status
  • provide more details about mitigation techniques availability during assessment and prognosis stages
  • provide more details about past, current or future releases (if any)
  • SFP assessment and prognosis stages that will follow systematic and generic approach for all NPPs (3D/3P approach)

CNSC will continue using the RAT as an informative and communication tool within its EOC since the new improvement of the RAT is consistent with CNSC 4D/4P approach and will enhance the communication between the CNSC and the IAEA-IEC.

To obtain a copy of the abstract’s document, please contact us at cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca or call 613-995-5894 or 1-800-668-5284 (in Canada). When contacting us, please provide the title and date of the abstract.

Date modified:

Utilisation de l’outil d’évaluation des réacteurs de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique au Centre des mesures d’urgence de la CCSN

Résumé de la présentation technique faite lors de la :
Réunion consultative de l’Agence internationale de l’énergie atomique (AIEA) (réunion virtuelle par WEBEX)
Le 17 juin 2020

Préparé par :
Mohamed E. Shawkat
CCSN

Résumé

L’AIEA a mis au point un outil d’évaluation des réacteurs (OER) aux fins d’utilisation en cas d’urgence nucléaire. Il s’agit du principal outil offert aux États membres en vue d’évaluer (ou de diagnostiquer) l’état des centrales nucléaires et d’émettre un pronostic de sorte d’estimer s’il y a eu un rejet, la durée du rejet (le cas échéant) et la gravité des conséquences radiologiques. L’OER compte différents modules qui représentent de nombreuses conceptions de réacteur nucléaire, y compris le RELP (ou réacteur CANDU). L’AIEA a tenu plusieurs réunions consultatives en vue d’améliorer l’OER et d’en faciliter l’utilisation pour tous les États membres en modifiant les différents modules de réacteur de sorte de suivre une approche systématique et d’améliorer les sections portant sur le pronostic et la piscine de stockage de combustible. La CCSN a participé activement à toutes les réunions consultatives de l’AIEA, soit en personne, soit virtuellement, afin de veiller à la bonne représentation du module sur les réacteurs CANDU dans l’OER. On utilise l’OER au Centre des mesures d’urgence (CMU) de la CCSN pour :

(1) fournir au Centre des incidents et des urgences de l’AIEA l’information essentielle en cas d’urgence et au fil de la progression d’un événement

(2) mettre au point le produit d’évaluation des réacteurs qui, pour sa part, sert d’outil de communication :

  • au sein de différents groupes du CMU de la CCSN ainsi qu’avec l’équipe de direction des mesures d’urgence
  • avec les organisations fédérales sous l’égide de la CCSN
  • entre la NRC des États Unis et la CCSN

L’AIEA a lancé une nouvelle version de l’OER fondée sur les recommandations formulées durant les réunions consultatives. Cette version présente les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • suit une approche systématique pour toutes les conceptions de réacteurs (méthodologie 3D/3P ou 4D/4P)
  • permet de réaliser le diagnostic et le pronostic en deux étapes distinctes et de comparer les résultats sur le même écran (deux onglets sont utilisés plutôt qu’un seul onglet pour représenter l’étape de l’évaluation et l’étape du pronostic)
  • offre un affichage pratique qui permet de voir rapidement l’état global de la centrale
  • offre de plus amples renseignements sur la disponibilité des techniques d’atténuation durant les étapes d’évaluation et de pronostic
  • offre de plus amples renseignements sur les rejets passés, actuels et futurs (le cas échéant)
  • établit des étapes d’évaluation et de pronostic de la piscine de stockage de combustible qui respectent une approche systématique et générique pour toutes les centrales nucléaires (méthodologie 3D/3P)

Pour obtenir une copie du document correspondant au résumé, veuillez communiquer avec nous à cnsc.info.ccsn@cnsc-ccsn.gc.ca ou en composant le 613-995-5894 ou le 1-800-668-5284 (au Canada). Veuillez fournir le titre et la date du résumé

Dernière mise à jour :