Terms of Reference of the External Advisory Committee on Pressure Tubes

Established: July 30, 2021

1. Background

On July 11, 2021, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (Commission) members were informed by CNSC staff that Bruce Power reported measurements obtained from one Unit 6 pressure tube, selected for examination as part of an industry-supported surveillance program, showed Hydrogen Equivalent Concentration ([Heq]) above the generic predictions and exceeding the Licence Condition 15.3 [Heq] limit of 120 parts per million (ppm – by weight). The Commission was further informed that measurements obtained from one Unit 3 pressure tube selected as part of an outage pressure tube inspection campaign showed [Heq] above the generic predictions and above the Licence Condition 15.3 [Heq] limit of 120 ppm.

Due to the highly technical and scientific nature regarding nuclear reactor pressure tubes and the impact of hydrogen on the structure and robustness of pressure tubes, this External Advisory Committee (EAC) is established pursuant to subsection 17(1) and paragraph 21(1)(c) of the Nuclear Safety and Control Act to provide technical and scientific expertise to the Commission in its regulatory decision-making regarding pressure tube fitness for service This is to complement the expertise of Commission members and CNSC staff specialists, and to provide an external perspective for the benefit of Commission members in their role as decision-makers.

The EAC is not a decision making body. It is expected to contribute to the technical soundness of decisions that will be made by the Commission. The Commission may adopt, modify or reject advice and recommendations from the EAC as it sees fit, according to broader considerations that will form the basis for Commission decisions.

2. Mandate

To provide objective and impartial expert advice to the Commission concerning matters related to pressure tubes generally, and specifically to address issues related to [Heq] exceedances and the predictive modelling used to assess [Heq] levels.

3. Principles

The Commission recognizes that EAC members have had or may have affiliations or interests with various nuclear industry actors. Principles of impartiality, fairness, timeliness, responsiveness and transparency shall guide the activities of the EAC.

4. Activities

The EAC will:

  1. Participate in Commission proceedings to provide expertise.
  2. Provide technical and scientific advice to the Commission following the review of documentation filed by participants and CNSC staff.
  3. Make recommendations and provide opinions to the Commission to assist in the Commission’s consideration of submissions filed and evidence received for Commission proceedings.
  4. Provide responses to queries from Commission members.
  5. Advise the Commission on relevant information that may further the knowledge of Commission in an area under review.
  6. Advise on or recommend areas of research or further assessments that would assist the Commission in its decision-making in relation to pressure tube and [Heq] issues.
  7. Conduct focused reviews in specific areas of importance to the Commission pertaining to pressure tubes, including on modelling and predictive tools, as requested by the Commission.

5. EAC Membership

  1. The EAC will be composed of a minimum of 3 members and a maximum of 5 members, including a Chair. Secretariat and analytical support to the EAC will be provided by the CNSC Secretariat who may assist during EAC activities and act as resource and liaison.
  2. The initial members have been selected by the President. Additional or temporary members may be selected by the President, upon consultation between the President and EAC Chair.
  3. Members may be from universities, science-based government departments, private consultancy firms and other institutions (e.g., international regulators, standards-setting groups).
  4. A majority of members shall be based in Canada and have experience with CANDU technology. Foreign members must bring relevant skills and expertise, if not familiar with CANDU technology.
  5. Members shall serve as individuals by virtue of their expertise, experience and knowledge of related issues in their respective fields. Members should keep appropriate documentation system for traceability and transparency of processes.
  6. For the purpose of subsection 5.a above, administrative support to be provided by Secretariat includes: manage the EAC file databases, co-ordinate reviews, facilitate meetings, take meeting minutes, and develop tools to support the EAC function.
  7. If the EAC determines that it needs to obtain advice from a third party where it would require the disbursement of moneys, the EAC Chair shall direct the request to the Commission Secretary for authorization.
  8. Members must not have worked as an employee of the CNSC, Bruce Power, OPG or NB Power for at least 1 year prior to serving on the EAC. It is understood that members may have done or may be currently doing work for the CNSC, Bruce Power, OPG or NB Power, in their capacity as experts and specialists.

6. Term for EAC Members

  1. The term of membership for an EAC member will be 2 years with the option to extend.
  2. Subject to consultation and agreement with the Commission, the membership composition may be modified to permit broad inclusiveness of viewpoints and to reflect various fields of expertise as required, with due consideration to preserve the continuity of the EAC.
  3. Membership may be terminated at any time by the Commission or upon written notification to the Commission Secretary.
  4. Members must declare any real or perceived conflict of interest they may have related to their role in the EAC activities, both before commencing their service with the EAC and during the term of that service. A member’s term may be terminated for a real or perceived conflict of interest, or for not fulfilling responsibilities and meeting objectives. The review and determination of real or perceived conflict of interest will be conducted by the President of the Commission.
  5. If an EAC member is unable to participate on a regular basis, their membership will be reviewed by the Chair in consultation with the President to determine if further action is required.
  6. The Chair will be designated by the President of the Commission.

7. Meetings and activities

  1. Activities may be requested or meetings may be called by the Chair or the President of the Commission. It is understood that time is of the essence, and that the EAC will be called upon from time to time, at the request of the Commission. Meetings may be held as required (including in person, via teleconference or virtually).
  2. Members are expected to attend all meetings and participate in activities where their advice is solicited.
  3. A member of the EAC who did not participate in a portion of a meeting because of affiliations and interests may not receive the section of the document pertaining to those affiliations and interests until that document becomes public.

8. Transparency

  1. In the spirit of transparency, interaction between the EAC and the Commission will be publicly reported, except where circumstances require confidentiality.
  2. The EAC will provide an Annual Report on progress achieved or work performed to the Commission. A summary of the EAC’s discussions and activities shall be included in the Annual Report.
  3. Chair responsibilities include the timely delivery of advice to the Commission by CEA members and the submission of the Annual Report to the Commission. Secretarial support shall be provided by the Commission Secretariat.
  4. The Secretariat will prepare on behalf of the EAC members a non-attributable record that includes the recommendations and advice resulting from each EAC activity or meeting. If parts or all of this record are confidential, the document will indicate this. The nature of the reporting may be in the form of notifications, reports, transcripts, summaries, records of decision, minutes or other means, as appropriate. Members will have an opportunity to review the record prepared by the Secretariat prior to its dissemination.
  5. If EAC members cannot come to a consensus, then the record must clearly state that there is a diversity of opinion with respect to the recommendations or advice.
  6. The EAC may provide recommendations or advice only in response to questions posed by or as directed by the Commission or President and within the scope of its mandate. Information that the Commission receives beyond the scope of the EAC mandate will be retained and used at the discretion of the Commission for future purposes.

9. Expenses and Reimbursement

The Commission Secretariat is responsible for the coordination, management and administration of the EAC and therefore will be responsible for reimbursement of EAC member’s eligible expenses and remuneration related to the EAC activities.

10. Conflict of Interest

EAC members must declare any conflict of interest on issues discussed. Representatives must be free of any real or perceived conflict of interest.

11. Confidentiality and non-disclosure

  1. Queries from or contacts with the media or any other external parties regarding the work or proceedings of the EAC must be referred to the Commission Secretariat. Members of the EAC shall not have communications with the media, unless authorized by the Commission Secretary.
  2. If required, communication between the EAC and CNSC staff or Commission members should be made through the Commission Secretariat.
  3. All members must sign a confidentiality agreement. A copy of the signed agreement must be provided to the Commission Secretariat. The template agreement is attached as Annex 1 to these Terms of Reference.

12. Amendments to the EAC Mandate and Terms of Reference

  1. The mandate and role of the EAC shall be reviewed by the Chair and the Commission every year. Thereafter, upon agreement by the Commission, the EAC may cease to be active (i.e. may be dissolved), or the membership may evolve (e.g., include other areas of expertise).

13. Signature of EAC Members

  1. All EAC Members shall sign to indicate their agreement to the EAC Terms of Reference.
  2. Signatures will be obtained as membership composition is changed or updated. The EAC Chair shall maintain an updated list with signatures and copies shall be provided to the Commission Secretariat.
Date modified:

Cadre de référence du Comité consultatif externe sur les tubes de force

Établi : Le 30 juillet 2021

1. Contexte

Le 11 juillet 2021, le personnel de la CCSN a informé les commissaires de la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (la Commission) que Bruce Power avait obtenu des mesures pour un tube de force de la tranche 6, choisi aux fins d’examen dans le cadre d’un programme de surveillance appuyé par l’industrie, présentant une concentration d’hydrogène équivalent (Heq) supérieure aux prévisions génériques et dépassant la limite de la condition de permis 15.3 relative à la concentration de Heq de 120 parties par million (ppm – en fonction du poids). La Commission a également été informée que les mesures obtenues pour un tube de force de la tranche 3, choisi dans le cadre d’une campagne d’inspection des tubes de force à l’occasion d’un arrêt, présentaient une concentration de Heq supérieure aux prévisions génériques et à la limite de 120 ppm stipulée dans la condition de permis 15.3.

En raison de la nature hautement technique et scientifique des tubes de force des réacteurs nucléaires et de l’incidence de l’hydrogène sur la structure et la robustesse des tubes de force, le présent Comité consultatif externe (CCE) est établi, conformément au paragraphe 17(1) et à l’alinéa 21(1)c) de la Loi sur la sûreté et la réglementation nucléaires, afin d’apporter une expertise technique et scientifique à la Commission dans sa prise de décision à l’égard de l’aptitude fonctionnelle des tubes de force. Cela s’ajoute à l’expertise des commissaires et des spécialistes de la CCSN et vise à fournir une perspective externe au bénéfice des commissaires dans leur rôle de décideurs.

Le CCE n’est pas un organe décisionnel. Il contribuera à la valeur technique des décisions qui seront prises par la Commission. La Commission pourrait adopter, modifier ou rejeter les conseils et les recommandations du CCE selon ce qu’elle juge approprié, en tenant compte de facteurs plus larges qui feront partie du fondement des décisions de la Commission.

2. Mandat

Fournir à la Commission des conseils d’experts objectifs et impartiaux sur les questions liées aux tubes de force, surtout aux dépassements des niveaux de Heq et à la modélisation prédictive utilisée pour évaluer ces niveaux.

3. Principes

La Commission reconnaît que les membres du CCE ont eu ou peuvent avoir des affiliations ou des intérêts avec divers acteurs de l’industrie nucléaire. Les principes d’impartialité, d’équité, de ponctualité, de capacité de réaction et de transparence doivent guider les activités du CCE.

4. Activités

Le CCE :

  1. Participera aux séances de la Commission pour y apporter son expertise.
  2. Fournira des conseils techniques et scientifiques à la Commission après l’examen de la documentation déposée par les participants et le personnel de la CCSN.
  3. Présentera à la Commission des recommandations et des avis qui l’aideront à examiner les documents déposés et les preuves reçues dans le cadre des séances de la Commission.
  4. Répondra aux questions des commissaires.
  5. Conseillera la Commission sur les renseignements susceptibles d’approfondir ses connaissances dans le domaine examiné.
  6. Prodiguera des conseils sur les domaines de recherche ou les évaluations supplémentaires qui pourraient aider la Commission à prendre une décision en ce qui concerne les tubes de force et les questions relatives à la concentration de Heq, ou fera des recommandations à ce sujet.
  7. Mènera, à la demande de la Commission, des examens ciblés dans des domaines précis et d’importance pour la Commission concernant les tubes de force, y compris sur les outils de modélisation et de prédiction.

5. Membres du CCE

  1. Le CCE sera composé d’un minimum de 3 membres et d’un maximum de 5 membres, dont un président. Le soutien administratif et analytique du CCE sera assuré par le Secrétariat de la CCSN, qui pourra apporter son aide lors des activités du CCE et agir en tant que ressource et agent de liaison.
  2. Les premiers membres ont été sélectionnés par la présidente de la Commission. Des membres supplémentaires ou temporaires peuvent être sélectionnés par la présidente de la Commission, après consultation entre celle-ci et le président du CCE.
  3. Les membres peuvent provenir d’universités, de ministères à vocation scientifique, de firmes privées d’experts-conseils et d’autres institutions (p. ex., organismes de réglementation internationaux, groupes de normalisation).
  4. La majorité des membres doivent être basés au Canada et avoir une expérience de la technologie CANDU. Les membres étrangers doivent apporter des compétences et une expertise pertinentes, s’ils ne sont pas familiers avec la technologie CANDU.
  5. Les membres siègent à titre individuel en raison de leur expertise, de leur expérience et de leur connaissance des questions connexes dans leurs domaines respectifs. Les membres doivent conserver un système de documentation approprié pour la traçabilité et la transparence des processus.
  6. Aux fins de la partie 5.a ci-dessus, le soutien administratif à fournir par le Secrétariat comprend : la gestion des bases de données des dossiers du CCE, la coordination des examens, l’animation des réunions, la rédaction des procès-verbaux des réunions et la création d’outils qui appuient la fonction du CCE.
  7. Si le CCE détermine qu’il a besoin de l’avis d’un tiers et si cela nécessite le déboursement de fonds, le président du CCE en fait la demande au secrétaire de la Commission pour autorisation.
  8. Les membres ne doivent pas avoir travaillé comme employés de la CCSN, de Bruce Power, d’OPG ou d’Énergie NB pendant au moins 1 an avant de siéger au CCE. Il est entendu que les membres peuvent avoir travaillé ou travailler actuellement pour la CCSN, Bruce Power, OPG ou Énergie NB, en leur qualité d’experts et de spécialistes.

6. Mandat des membres du CCE

  1. La durée de l’adhésion au CCE sera de 2 ans, prolongeable.
  2. Sous réserve de consultation et d’accord avec la Commission, la composition des membres peut être modifiée pour inclure un large éventail de points de vue et pour intégrer divers domaines d’expertise, selon les besoins, en tenant dûment compte de la nécessité de préserver la continuité du CCE.
  3. Le statut de membre peut être révoqué à tout moment par la Commission ou par écrit au secrétaire de la Commission.
  4. Les membres doivent déclarer tout conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent qu’ils pourraient avoir en rapport avec leur rôle dans les activités du CCE, à la fois avant de commencer leur service au sein du CCE et pendant la durée de ce service. Il peut être mis fin au mandat d’un membre en raison d’un conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent, ou parce qu’il ne remplit pas ses responsabilités et n’atteint pas ses objectifs. L’examen et la détermination des conflits d’intérêts, réels ou apparents, sont effectués par la présidente de la Commission.
  5. Si un membre du CCE n’est pas en mesure d’y participer de façon régulière, son statut de membre sera examiné par le président du CCE, en consultation avec la présidente, pour déterminer si des mesures s’imposent.
  6. Le président du CCE est désigné par la présidente de la Commission.

7. Réunions et activités

  1. Des activités peuvent être demandées et des réunions peuvent être convoquées par le président du CCE ou la présidente de la Commission. Il est entendu que le temps est un facteur important, et que le CCE sera sollicité de temps à autre, à la demande de la Commission. Les réunions seront tenues selon les besoins (en personne, par téléconférence ou virtuellement).
  2. Les membres doivent assister à toutes les réunions et participer aux activités où leur avis est sollicité.
  3. Le membre du CCE qui ne participe pas à une partie d’une réunion en raison de ses affiliations et de ses intérêts ne reçoit la partie du document relative à ces affiliations et à ces intérêts qu’après sa publication.

8. Transparence

  1. Dans un esprit de transparence, l’interaction entre le CCE et la Commission sera rendue publique, sauf lorsque les circonstances exigent la confidentialité.
  2. Le CCE fournira à la Commission un rapport annuel sur les progrès et les travaux accomplis. Un résumé des discussions et des travaux du CCE sera inclus dans le rapport annuel.
  3. Les responsabilités du président du CCE comprennent la prestation en temps opportun de conseils à la Commission par les membres du CCE et la présentation du rapport annuel à la Commission. Le soutien administratif sera assuré par le Secrétariat de la Commission.
  4. Le Secrétariat préparera au nom des membres du CCE un compte rendu général sur les recommandations et les conseils issus de chaque activité ou réunion du CCE. Si l’intégralité ou une partie du compte rendu est confidentielle, le document le précisera. Les comptes rendus peuvent prendre la forme de notifications, de rapports, de transcriptions, de résumés, de comptes rendus de décision, de procès-verbaux ou d’autres formes, selon le cas. Les membres auront la possibilité d’examiner les comptes rendus rédigés par le Secrétariat avant leur diffusion.
  5. Si les membres du CCE ne peuvent parvenir à un consensus, le compte rendu doit préciser que les recommandations ou les conseils suscitent une divergence d’opinions.
  6. Le CCE fournira uniquement des recommandations et des conseils sur les questions ou les directives formulées par la Commission ou la présidente, et dans le respect du mandat du comité. Les renseignements reçus par la Commission en dehors du mandat du CCE seront conservés et utilisés à la discrétion de la Commission à des fins futures.

9. Dépenses et remboursements

Le Secrétariat de la Commission est chargé de la coordination, de la gestion et de l’administration du CCE, et sera donc responsable du remboursement des dépenses admissibles et de la rémunération des membres du CCE liées aux activités du CCE.

10. Conflits d’intérêts

Les membres du CCE doivent déclarer tout conflit d’intérêts relatif aux enjeux abordés. Les représentants doivent être exempts de tout conflit d’intérêts réel ou apparent.

11. Confidentialité et non-divulgation

  1. Les demandes de renseignement et de communication provenant des médias et des tiers sur les travaux du CCE doivent être redirigées au Secrétariat de la Commission. Les membres du CCE ne doivent pas communiquer avec les médias, à moins d’y être autorisés par le secrétaire de la Commission.
  2. Si la communication est nécessaire entre le CCE et le personnel de la CCSN ou les commissaires, elle doit se faire par l’intermédiaire du Secrétariat de la Commission.
  3. Tous les membres doivent signer une entente de confidentialité. Un exemplaire de l’entente signée doit être remis au Secrétariat de la Commission. Le modèle d’entente est joint en annexe 1 au présent Cadre de référence.

12. Amendements au mandat et au Cadre de référence du CCE

  1. Le mandat et le rôle du CCE sont réexaminés chaque année par le président du CCE et par la Commission. Par la suite, avec l’accord de la Commission, le CCE peut cesser son activité (c’est-à-dire être dissous), ou sa composition peut évoluer (par exemple, intégrer d’autres domaines d’expertise).

13. Signature des membres du CCE

  1. Tous les membres du CCE doivent apposer leur signature pour indiquer qu’ils acceptent le Cadre de référence du CCE.
  2. Les signatures seront obtenues au fur et à mesure que la composition des membres est modifiée ou mise à jour. Le président du CCE tient à jour une liste des signatures, dont des exemplaires sont fournis au Secrétariat de la Commission.
Dernière mise à jour :