Deep Geologic Repositories

What is a DGR?

A deep geological repository (DGR) is a facility constructed underground – usually at a depth of several hundred metres or more below the surface – in a stable rock formation to contain and isolate radioactive waste from the public and the environment for thousands of years.

DGR research

The deep geological storage method has been studied for several decades around the world, through laboratory tests and underground research facilities. Since 1978, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) has been involved in independent research and assessment, including international collaboration, on the long-term management of used nuclear fuel in geological repositories.

DGR status in Canada

Canada has two proposed long-term radioactive waste management initiatives under way that may result in the construction of a deep geological repository.

The first, Ontario Power Generation's Deep Geologic Repository, is a proposal to build a facility for the long-term management of low-and intermediate-level radioactive waste at the Bruce Nuclear site, in the Municipality of Kincardine, ON. An environmental assessment for the project is currently ongoing.

The second, the Nuclear Waste Management Organization's (NWMO) Adaptive Phased Management approach , focuses on the long-term management of Canada's used nuclear fuel. The NWMO is currently conducting site selection for this DGR.

Both initiatives are in the early stages, and no regulatory decisions on either initiative have been made.

Image: In 2013, CNSC staff visited the underground rock characterization facility in Finland to learn about research being conducted for a deep geological repository for used nuclear fuel.

DGRs around the world

Low- and intermediate-level radioactive wastes are managed in many different ways around the world, and the process to store the wastes varies from country to country.

High-level radioactive waste DGRs are being considered in most countries with commercial nuclear power production. In Switzerland, an active site-selection process is currently under way. The site selections for France and Sweden have been made. Sweden's nuclear regulatory body is currently reviewing a licence application for construction. Finally, Finland's DGR project, the Onkalo spent nuclear fuel repository, which obtained regulatory approval to begin construction in November 2015, is the first project to enter the construction phase.

Dépôts en formations géologiques profondes (DFGP)

Qu'est-ce qu'un DFGP?

Un dépôt en formations géologiques profondes (DFGP) est une installation souterraine, habituellement construite à quelques centaines de mètres ou plus sous la surface, dans une formation rocheuse stable. Il sert à contenir et à isoler les déchets radioactifs de la population et de l'environnement pour des milliers d'années.

Recherches sur les DFGP

Le concept de stockage en formations géologiques profondes est étudié partout dans le monde depuis plusieurs décennies, au moyen d'essais en laboratoire et dans des installations de recherche souterraines. Depuis 1978, la Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) participe aux recherches et aux évaluations indépendantes sur la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire usé dans des DFGP, y compris aux activités de collaboration internationales.

Le point sur les DFGP au Canada

Deux initiatives au Canada sont en cours pour la gestion à long terme des déchets radioactifs. Elles pourraient mener à la construction d'un dépôt en formations géologiques profondes.

La première initiative, le projet de stockage dans des couches géologiques profondes d'Ontario Power Generation, consiste à construire une installation de gestion à long terme des déchets de faible et de moyenne activité sur le site de la centrale nucléaire de Bruce, dans la municipalité de Kincardine (Ontario). Une évaluation environnementale pour le projet est en cours.

La deuxième initiative, le projet de gestion adaptative progressive de la Société de gestion des déchets nucléaires (SGDN) porte sur la gestion à long terme du combustible nucléaire usé du Canada. Les travaux de la SGDN sont actuellement à l'étape du choix du site pour ce dépôt.

Les deux initiatives en sont aux premiers jalons, et aucune décision réglementaire à leur sujet n'a encore été prise.

Image : En 2013, le personnel de la CCSN a visité le site de caractérisation souterraine en Finlande afin d'en apprendre plus sur la recherche menée pour un dépôt géologique en profondeur pour le combustible nucléaire irradié.

Les DFGP partout dans le monde

Les déchets de faible et de moyenne activité sont gérés de diverses manières partout dans le monde, et les processus de stockage des déchets varient d'un pays à un autre.

La construction de DFGP pour des déchets de haute activité est envisagée dans la plupart des pays producteurs d'énergie nucléaire aux fins commerciales. En Suisse, le processus de sélection d'un site est en cours. La France et la Suède ont déjà choisi un site. L'organisme de réglementation nucléaire de la Suède examine maintenant une demande de permis de construction. Un premier projet de DFGP est déjà à l'étape de la construction : celui de la Finlande (le dépôt de combustible nucléaire usé Onkalo), qui a obtenu l'approbation réglementaire en novembre 2015 pour commencer les travaux de construction.