Participant funding for Ontario Power Generation’s Western Waste Management Facility Licence Renewal

Participant funding for Ontario Power Generation’s Western Waste Management Facility licence renewal will be open from July 25 to October 30, 2016.

Participant funding notice

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is offering participant funding to assist members of the public, Aboriginal groups and other stakeholders in participating in the licence application review and Commission hearing process for Ontario Power Generation’s (OPG) Western Waste Management Facility (WWMF) licence renewal.

The CNSC will hold a public hearing on April 12, 2017 to consider an application from OPG to renew, for a period of 10 years, its waste facility operating licence. The current operating licence expires on May 31, 2017. OPG’s application includes a request for authorization to expand the current site and to construct new additional storage structures at the WWMF for the continued management of OPG’s radioactive wastes. The WWMF is located in the Municipality of Kincardine, Ontario, on the Bruce Power Inc. site.

Participant funding up to $75,000 is being offered for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information, through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. Funding will be awarded for the review of documentation including CNSC staff and OPG’s Commission member documents, and for participation in the public Commission hearing.

To apply for participant funding, interested parties must fill out and return the participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. Submit the application form by

  • email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o: Participant Funding Program Administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5S9
  • fax: 613-995-5086

The deadline to submit a participant funding application is October 30, 2016. Please note that late or incomplete funding applications will not be considered.

A funding review committee, independent of the CNSC, will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

For more information, visit the radioactive waste and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:
Adam Levine
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-947-6382
1-800-668-5284
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Financement des participants relatif au renouvellement du permis d’Ontario Power Generation pour l’installation de gestion des déchets Western

Il sera possible de faire une demande de financement des participants pour l’examen de la demande de renouvellement du permis d’Ontario Power Generation pour l’installation de gestion des déchets Western, du 25 juillet 2016 au 30 octobre 2016.

Avis de financement des participants

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) offre du financement pour aider le public, les groupes autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées à participer à l’examen de la demande de permis et au processus d’audience de la Commission pour le renouvellement du permis d’Ontario Power Generation (OPG) pour l’installation de gestion des déchets Western (IGDW).

Le 12 avril 2017, la CCSN tiendra une audience publique pour examiner une demande d’OPG pour le renouvellement, pour une période de dix ans, de son permis d’exploitation d’une installation de gestion des déchets. Le permis d’exploitation actuel vient à échéance le 31 mai 2017. La demande d’OPG comprend une demande d’autorisation pour l’agrandissement du site actuel et la construction de nouvelles structures de stockage additionnelles à l’IGDW pour la gestion continue des déchets radioactifs d’OPG. L’IGDW est située dans la municipalité de Kincardine (Ontario), sur le site de Bruce Power Inc.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 75 000 $ est offerte pour la prestation de renseignements nouveaux, distincts et utiles à la Commission par l’intermédiaire d’interventions éclairées ayant trait au sujet examiné. Du financement sera accordé pour l’examen de documents tels que les documents à l’intention des commissaires préparés par le personnel de la CCSN et OPG, ainsi que pour la participation à l’audience de la Commission connexe.

Pour faire une demande de financement, les parties intéressées doivent remplir un formulaire de demande de financement des participants. Les demandes doivent respecter certaines conditions. Les demandes peuvent être soumises par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5S9
    Canada
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

La date limite pour remettre une demande de financement est le 30 octobre 2016. Veuillez prendre note que les demandes incomplètes ou tardives ne seront pas retenues.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez les sections du site Web de la CCSN sur les déchets radioactifs et le Programme de financement des participants.

Pour toute question au sujet de cette possibilité de financement, veuillez communiquer avec :

Adam Levine
Administrateur du Programme de financement des participants
613-947-6382
1-800-668-5284
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca