Participant funding for Ontario Power Generation Inc.’s Pickering Waste Management Facility licence renewal

Participant funding for Ontario Power Generation Inc.’s (OPG) Pickering Waste Management Facility (PWMF) licence renewal will be open from November 4 to December 9, 2016.

Participant funding notice

The Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission (CNSC) is offering participant funding to assist members of the public, Indigenous groups and other stakeholders in participating in the licence application review and the Commission’s public hearing process for the renewal of OPG’s PWMF operating licence. The PWMF is located on the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station site in the city of Pickering, Ontario, on Lake Ontario’s north shore.

Under the current operating licence, which will expire on March 31, 2018, the PWMF processes used nuclear fuel from the Pickering Nuclear Generating Station and stores it onsite in dry storage containers (DSCs). The PWMF also stores intermediate-level waste generated from the refurbishment of Pickering A.

The CNSC will hold a public hearing in Ottawa, Ontario on April 11 or 12, 2017 to consider OPG’s application to renew its PWMF operating licence until August 31, 2028. OPG is also seeking approval to construct and operate additional facilities at the PWMF, including one DSC processing building and two DSC storage buildings.

Participant funding up to $50,000 is being offered for the provision of new, distinctive and valuable information, through informed and topic-specific interventions to the Commission. Funding will be awarded for the review of documentation – including CNSC staff and OPG’s Commission member documents – and for participation in public Commission hearings.

To apply for participant funding, interested parties must fill out and return the participant funding application form. Certain terms and conditions apply. Submit the application form by

  • email: cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • mail: Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission
    c/o: Participant Funding Program Administrator
    P.O. Box 1046, Station B
    280 Slater Street
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K1P 5S9
  • fax: 613-995-5086

The deadline to submit a participant funding application is December 9, 2016. Please note that late or incomplete funding applications will not be considered.

A funding review committee, independent of the CNSC, will consider all applications for funding and make recommendations on the allocation of funds.

The CNSC regulates the use of nuclear energy and materials to protect health, safety, security and the environment; to implement Canada’s international commitments on the peaceful use of nuclear energy; and to disseminate objective scientific, technical and regulatory information to the public.

For more information, view the Notice of Public Hearing or visit the Participate in a Public Commission Hearing and Participant Funding Program sections of the CNSC website.

For questions about this specific funding opportunity, contact:

Lori Duguay
Participant Funding Program Administrator
613-995-3061
1-800-668-5284
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca

Financement des participants relatif au renouvellement du permis d’Ontario Power Generation Inc. pour l’installation de gestion des déchets de Pickering

Il sera possible de faire une demande de financement des participants, du 4 novembre au 9 décembre 2016, pour l’examen de la demande de renouvellement du permis d’Ontario Power Generation Inc. (OPG) pour son installation de gestion des déchets de Pickering (IGDP).

Avis de financement des participants

La Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire (CCSN) offre du financement pour aider le public, les groupes autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées à participer à l’examen de la demande de permis et au processus d’audience publique de la Commission pour le renouvellement du permis d’exploitation de l’IGDP d’OPG. L’installation est située sur le site de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering, dans la ville de Pickering (Ontario), sur la rive nord du lac Ontario. 

Conformément au permis d’exploitation en vigueur, qui vient à échéance le 31 mars 2018, l’IGDP traite le combustible usé de la centrale nucléaire de Pickering et l’entrepose sur place dans des conteneurs de stockage à sec. Des déchets de moyenne activité provenant de la réfection de Pickering-A sont également entreposés à l’IGDP.

La CCSN tiendra une audience publique à Ottawa (Ontario) le 11 ou 12 avril 2017 pour examiner une demande d’OPG visant à renouveler le permis d’exploitation de l’IGDP jusqu’au 31 août 2028. OPG cherche aussi à faire approuver la construction et l’exploitation d’autres installations à l’IGDP, y compris un bâtiment pour le traitement des conteneurs de stockage à sec et deux bâtiments pour le stockage de ces conteneurs.

De l’aide financière pouvant atteindre 50 000 $ est offerte pour la prestation de renseignements nouveaux, distincts et utiles à la Commission par l’intermédiaire d’interventions éclairées ayant trait au sujet examiné. Du financement sera accordé pour l’examen de documents tels que les documents à l’intention des commissaires préparés par le personnel de la CCSN et OPG, ainsi que pour la participation à l’audience de la Commission connexe.

Pour faire une demande de financement, les parties intéressées doivent remplir un formulaire de demande de financement des participants. Les demandes doivent respecter certaines conditions. Les demandes peuvent être soumises par l’un des moyens suivants :

  • Courriel : cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca
  • Poste : Commission canadienne de sûreté nucléaire
    a/s de : Administratrice du Programme de financement des participants
    280, rue Slater, C.P. 1046, succursale B
    Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 5S9
    CANADA
  • Télécopieur : 613-995-5086

La date limite pour remettre une demande de financement est le 9 décembre 2016. Veuillez prendre note que les demandes incomplètes ou tardives ne seront pas retenues.

Un comité d’examen de l’aide financière, indépendant de la CCSN, examinera toutes les demandes et formulera des recommandations sur l’attribution des fonds.

La CCSN réglemente l’utilisation de l’énergie et des matières nucléaires afin de préserver la santé, la sûreté et la sécurité, de protéger l’environnement, de respecter les engagements internationaux du Canada à l’égard de l’utilisation pacifique de l’énergie nucléaire, et d’informer objectivement le public sur les plans scientifique ou technique ou en ce qui concerne la réglementation du domaine de l’énergie nucléaire.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez l’avis d’audience publique ou visitez les sections Participer à une audience publique de la Commission et Programme de financement des participants sur le site Web de la CCSN.

Pour toute question au sujet de cette possibilité de financement, veuillez communiquer avec :

Lori Duguay
Administratrice du Programme de financement des participants
613-995-3061
1-800-668-5284
cnsc.pfp.ccsn@canada.ca